34
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
NIKOLAI GURLO'S SATIRE AND HUMOR
In June 1941 the German army was advancing rapidly into the Soviet Union. Within a few days after the beginning of the war Luftwaffe bombers turned Minsk into ruins. The city, which was captured by the Germans, was up in flames…

"Wandering through the city debris, Nikolai Gurlo vowed to never forgive and to retaliate against fascists. As one of many Soviet patriots he began his fight against the fascism from the early days of the war," reads an article dedicated to the Belarusian artist and participant of the Great Patriotic War Nikolai Gurlo in the Partisan Fight journal (Issue No.1) of the Kalinin unit of the Pravda Newspaper Brigade dated October 1943.
Reference: Nikolai Gurlo was born in the town of Kamenskoye, Dnepropetrovsk Oblast on 15 May 1914. Graphic artist. Member of the Belarusian Union of Artists. Specialized in poster and book illustrations. Collaborated with magazines and newspapers. Member of the partisan movement during the Great Patriotic War. Awarded an Order of the Red Star, medals, an Honorary Certificate of the Supreme Council of the BSSR. Died on 4 September 1980.

From the beginning of the war till 1943 Nikolai Gurlo actively fought against fascists first as part of the Minsk underground resistance group Tatyana and then as a member of the partisan movement. His time with the underground resistance movement before joining the unit was detailed in the article Taking a Revenge on Fascists in the Our Heroes column.
"He takes out his receiver, gets the latest news from the front and distributes it among Minsk residents. Living close to POW camps, he contacts former soldiers, commanders, political officers of the Red Army and helps many of them to escape. He works hard to provide Soviet patriots with proper identification papers.

An excerpt from Partisan Fight journal of the M.I. Kalinin partisan unit, Pravda Newspaper Brigade, Issue No.1, October 1943
Nikolai Gurlo's portrait drawn by his daughter Nina, 1994
Nikolai Gurlo kept in touch with a partisan group in Logoisk, Minsk Oblast. He used his father and a messenger to pass Sovinformburo news and also weapons to partisans. In one of the missions Gurlo's father was killed by a traitor. In the spring of 1943 Nikolai and his brother were arrested.

On the way to a slave labor camp in Germany he helped some 20 people escape. He managed to run away himself. In early June 1943, Nikolai Gurlo joined partisans to continue the fight against the Nazi invaders as a soldier and an artist.
Preparation of the Avenger journal, 1944. Nikolai Gurlo (right). Photo from the museum's archives
Over 100 sketches and a gallery of portraits of comrades-in-arms – Gurlo's works represent a unique artistic chronicle of the life and struggle of the partisans. Satirical pictures make up a significant part of the artist's wartime creations.
The original Belarusian painter Nikolai Gurlo earned a reputation as a master of political and everyday satire on pages of the first issue Forward and the second issue Avenger of the handwritten journals released by the Pravda Newspaper partisan brigade.
Nikolai Gurlo's caricatures and comics are filled with humor and vivid fantasy, sorrow and hope. The amalgamation of literature and pictorial language enhances the damnatory and satirical aspects of his sketches.
Photo from the museum's archives
The reflection of the history of the partisan war in the form of artistic imagery is present in every handwritten journal. Reporter drawings are also seen as pages in the war-torn fates of Belarusian artists.
Partisan handwritten books contain over 3,000 illustrations. They were drawn by amateur artists and professionals, including Genrikh Brzhozovsky, Sergei Romanov, Vladimir Sukhoverkhy, and Nikolai Gurlo.
In the editorial office of the Vozhyk magazine. Nikolai Gurlo, second from left, 1958. Photo from the museum's archives
After the war Nikolai Gurlo continued his artistic career. For 35 years he was one of the top illustrators of the satire and humor magazine Vozhyk. The works created for the magazine demonstrate his genuine aptitude for political and everyday satire.
Forward literary and art journal, Issue No. 1, April 1944
To be continued...
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right

34
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
САТИРА И ЮМОР НИКОЛАЯ ГУРЛО
В июне 1941 года армия вермахта стремительно наступала на Советский Союз. Буквально за несколько дней после начала войны бомбардировщики люфтваффе превратили Минск в руины. Город, захваченный немцами, пожирало пламя…

«Бродя по пепелищам, Гурло поклялся никогда не прощать и мстить фашистам. Как один из многих советских патриотов с первых же дней войны он начал вести борьбу с фашизмом». Так в журнале №1 «Партизанская борьба» отряда имени М.И.Калинина бригады имени газеты «Правда», датированном октябрем 1943 года, начинается боевая биография белорусского художника и участника Великой Отечественной войны Николая Гурло.
Справочно: Николай Васильевич Гурло родился 15 мая 1914 года в городе Каменское (Днепропетровская область). Художник-график. Член Белорусского союза художников. Работал в области плаката и книжной иллюстрации. Сотрудничал с белорусскими журналами и газетами. Участник партизанского движения в годы Великой Отечественной войны. Награжден орденом Красной Звезды, медалями, Почетной грамотой Верховного Совета БССР. Умер 4 сентября 1980 года.


С начала войны и по 1943 год Николай Гурло вел активную антифашистскую борьбу в составе минской подпольной группы «Татьяна», затем – в рядах партизан. Период его работы в подполье до прихода в отряд подробно изложен в статье «Отомстить фашистам» под рубрикой «Наши герои».
«Он достает радиоаппарат и, получая сводки с фронта, распространяет их среди населения Минска. Живя около лагерей военнопленных, связывается через надежных людей с бывшими бойцами, командирами, политработниками Красной Армии и многим из них устраивает побег из фашистского плена. Много работает в обеспечении документами советских патриотов».

Фрагмент журнала №1 «Партизанская борьба» отряда имени М.И.Калинина бригады имени газеты «Правда», октябрь 1943 года
Портрет Николая Гурло, нарисованный его дочерью Ниной, 1994 год
Николай Гурло держал связь с партизанской группой, которая действовала в районе Логойска (Минская область). Через своего отца и связного со сводками Совинформбюро передавал партизанам оружие. В одной из таких поездок отец Гурло погиб от руки предателя, а весной 1943 года вместе с братом арестовали самого Николая.

По дороге на каторгу в Германию он помог бежать двум десяткам человек, вырваться от рук фашистов удалось и ему самому. В начале июня 1943 года Николай Гурло попал в партизанский отряд, где как боец и художник продолжил борьбу против оккупантов.
Подготовка номера журнала "Мститель", 1944 год. Справа - Николай Гурло. Фото из архива музея
Более ста зарисовок и галерея портретов боевых товарищей – работы Гурло составляют уникальную художественную летопись жизни и борьбы партизан. Весомая часть военного творчества художника – сатирическая графика.
Самобытный белорусский художник Николай Гурло зарекомендовал себя мастером политической и бытовой сатиры на страницах рукописных журналов №1 «Вперёд» и №2 «Мститель» бригады имени газеты «Правда».
Карикатуры и комиксы Николая Гурло наполнены и юмором, и яркой фантазией, и горечью, и надеждой. Сплав литературы и изобразительного языка усиливает изобличительно-сатирическое направление его зарисовок.
Фото из архива музея
Художественно-образное отражение истории партизанской войны присутствует в каждом рукописном журнале. Репортажная графика – это еще и страницы судеб белорусских художников, в чью жизнь вошла война.
Партизанские рукописные книги содержат более трех тысяч иллюстраций. Они выполнены самодеятельными художниками и профессионалами, среди них Генрих Бржозовский, Сергей Романов, Владимир Суховерхий и Николай Гурло.
В редакции журнала "Вожык". За столом второй слева - Николай Гурло, 1958 год. Фото из архива музея
После войны Николай Гурло продолжил творческую деятельность. На протяжении 35 лет он был одним из ведущих иллюстраторов журнала сатиры и юмора «Вожык», на страницах которого проявил себя мастером политической и бытовой сатиры.
Литературно-художественный журнал №1 «Вперед», апрель 1944 года
Продолжение следует...
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right