4
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
The great battles started on the Belarusian land and it is here where they will end!

BELARUSIAN POETS
TO NATIONAL AVENGERS
The words of People's Poet Yakub Kolas proved to be prophetic: the Belarusian land was the first to face the fascists, and it was from here that the Soviet troops, after the successful Operation Bagration to liberate Belarus, continued their heroic march to the West, to Berlin…
Yanka Kupala and Yakub Kolas made numerous addresses to the nation during the war as part of the anti-fascist campaign. Their poems were printed on leaflets, poster newspapers and partisan journals.
The Belarusian nation had never knelt down before the enemy. This was reiterated by Belarusian People's Poet Yanka Kupala in his address to the Belarusian people published in the poster newspaper Kill The Fascist Beast in March 1942. "Fascists should pay dearly for the suffering they brought; ruthless revenge on the enemy is the sacred duty of everyone," the poet exclaimed. "The victory is inevitable and the Belarusian land will become a graveyard for fascists."
Photo from the museum's archives
What may be stronger than tanks and guns? Only faith in the victory. Soldiers and partisans would perform their heroic deeds in the name of it. The fascists did not understand why Soviet soldiers would fight hand-to-hand once they ran out of ammunition?
The poem To Fascist Bandits was written by Yakub Kolas in 1941, the darkest time when it was not clear who would prevail. But faith in the victory was stronger. "The fascist snake will meet its end here and will be buried under aspen trees…" When partisans were reading these lines they had no doubt that the things would unfold exactly that way. No one knew when the victory would come, but everyone believed it would.


Yakub Kolas' partisan song We Will Avenge written on 22 April 1942 is filled with bitter hatred against fascists. The national revenge will be ruthless, says the poet urging to destroy the fascist beast.


Yakub Kolas' wartime publications were a mix of heavy irony, satire and sarcasm. Tearing to shreds the fascist doctrine about the supremacy of the German race, the poet called for nationwide popular resistance: the myth about the invincibility of fascist Germany was dispelled near Moscow.
A partisan camp. Photo by BelTA

In Yanka Kupala's wartime essays and poems the love for the native land and hatred towards fascists go hand in hand: such a contrast enhanced by symbolism and emotional touch possesses a power which arouses the most moving thoughts and feelings.
The lines published in Russian in the partisan journal Komsomolskaya Iskra in December 1943 are as expressive:

But our heroic and mighty nation would not fall to its knees. The nation destroys the enemy the way people kill mad dogs… And listens to the bidding of its ardent poet Yanka Kupala.
Partisans knew and loved works of the Belarusian poets and even dedicated their own verses to them. In February 1944 the partisan poetess Yanina Krainik published a poem dedicated to Yakub Kolas in the Plamya (Flame) manuscript journal of the partisan brigade from Minsk Oblast under the pseudonym of Lilia Lesnaya.
The author described the tragedy of the residents of Berezyanka who were burned alive by punitive troops on 6 September 1943. It was the Berezyanka on the bank of the Svisloch River, which natural beauty Yakub Kolas loved so much and celebrated in his poems before the war.

Along with menacing and accusatory texts the partisan journals had some space for review materials. For instance, brief background information about the BSSR catches one's eye.
BYELORUSSIAN SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLIC (BSSR)

Area – about 230,000 square kilometers.
Population – over 10 million.
Major ethnicity – Belarusians.
The BSSR was also home to Russians, Jews, Poles and other ethnicities.
Capital – Minsk.
Collectivization (in terms of area under crops) – 96.7%.
Tractors – 8,900 units, harvesters – 1,200 in 1938.
Area under crops – 3.205 million hectares in 1939 (2.564 million hectares in 1913).
At the beginning of the third Five-Year Plan (1938–1942) school enrollment was 3.8 times as big as in 1913 (266,000 in 1913 vs. 1 million in 1937).
Number of universities – 23 (nonexistent before the revolution).
Number of doctors – 2,367 in 1937 (495 in 1913).

Partisans Ivan Khmelev and Maria Grigorieva on patrol. Photo by BelTA
The following lines of the partisan journal reveal one of the main secrets behind the Victory. Following the defeat near Moscow and at Stalingrad, fascists realized that it would be hard, if possible at all, to defeat the Soviet Union. The enemy did not take into account that the USSR would fight selflessly not only on the frontline but also deep in the rear and that the relocated factories would uninterruptedly provide the army with everything necessary.
Komsomolskaya Iskra journal of the Communist Party and Komsomol organizations of Komsomol Unit of Minsk Partisan Brigade No. 1, Issue No. 4, December 1943:

"The Soviet state has never been as strong and unshakable as it is now, in the third year of the Great Patriotic War. The lessons of the war show that the Soviet system was not only the best way to secure economic and cultural progress during the years of the country's peaceful development but also the best in mobilizing the nation to repel the enemy during the war. Established 26 years ago, the Soviet government managed to turn the country into an adamant fortress very quickly. Out of all the armies of the world the Red Army has the strongest and most reliable rear. This is the source of strength for the Soviet Union."
Years later People's Poet of Belarus Yakub Kolas wrote: "Without studying the past and the present we cannot foresee the future". Today these words sound like a spiritual message to the next generation.
Komsomolskaya Iskra journal of the Communist Party and Komsomol organizations of Komsomol Unit of Minsk Partisan Brigade No. 1, Issue No. 4, December 1943
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

СТРАНИЦА
4
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
Вялікія бітвы пачаліся і кончацца на табе, беларуская зямля…
ПЕСНЯРЫ БЕЛОРУССКОЙ ЗЕМЛИ
НАРОДНЫМ МСТИТЕЛЯМ
Слова народного поэта Якуба Коласа оказались, по сути, пророческими: белорусская земля первой встретила фашистов и именно на ней после успешного проведения операции «Багратион» и освобождения Беларуси продолжился героический путь советских войск на запад, на Берлин...
Призывы Якуба Коласа и Янки Купалы были частью агитации в тяжелые военные годы. Их печатали на листовках, публиковали в газетах-плакатах, на страницах партизанских журналов… Стихи и проза песняров белорусской земли поднимали партизан против немецких танков и пушек.
Из обращения народного поэта БССР Янки Купалы к белорусскому народу (фрагмент из листовки «Смерть фашистским оккупантам!», 1942 год):

«Ніколі, мой народзе, ты не схіляў галавы перад тым, хто калі-небудзь імкнуўся заняволіць цябе. Бацькі, дзяды і прадзеды нашы заўседы былі слаўнымі змагарамі супраць няволі…

У цяжкія хвіліны нашага жыцця мы мужна зносілі бяду і гора, але не гнулі плеч у пакоры…

Але ў наш светлы дом уварваўся чужынец, бесчалавечны гад, які жыве не імкненнем да брацтва і дружбы, а звярынай прагнасцю таптаць сабе пад ногі ўсё, што створана ў людзях, для людзей, для чалавека…

І ў гэты час расплаты з ворагам вы павінны памятаць, што святы абавязак наш перад Радзімай яшчэ больш як калі помсціць ворагу без канца і без меры…

Жыві, родная беларуская зямля! Час вызвалення блізак! Блізак час, калі зноў мы збярэмся ў шчасці і радасці вялікай сваёй сям'ёй на роднай зямлі, для вялікай працы аднаўлення і творчасці».
Фото из архива музея
Что может быть сильнее танков и пушек? Только вера в победу. Благодаря ей солдаты и партизаны совершали подвиги. Фашисты не понимали, ради чего советский солдат, когда заканчивались боеприпасы, мог пойти врукопашную?..
Стихотворение Коласа «Фашысцкім бандытам» написано в 1941 году, в тяжелейший период, когда вопрос «кто кого» стоял очень остро. Но вера в победу была сильнее: когда партизаны читали эти строчки, не было никаких сомнений: «Фашысцкаму змею Тут будзе магіла – Пад горкай асінай курган...». Никто еще не знал, когда будет победа, но в то, что она обязательно придет, верили все.


Особой ненавистью к фашистам проникнута партизанская песня Якуба Коласа «Адпомсцім!», написанная 22 апреля 1942 года. Народная месть будет беспощадной поэт призывает уничтожить фашистского зверя.


В военной публицистике Якуба Коласа есть все: и язвительная ирония, и сатирические краски, и сарказм. Разбив в пух и прах доктрину фашистских идеологов об исключительности немецкой расы, поэт призывает к всеобщему народному сопротивлению: миф о непобедимости фашистской Германии развеян под Москвой.
В партизанском лагере. Фото БЕЛТА
В публицистике и поэзии военных лет Янки Купалы любовь к родной земле и ненависть к фашистам были всегда рядом: такой контраст в сочетании с образной символикой и лирико-песенной интонацией глубоко проникает в душу.
Не менее выразительно звучат строчки, опубликованные на русском языке в партизанском журнале «Комсомольская искра» в декабре 1943 года:

Но народ-богатырь, народ-герой не становится на колени. Народ уничтожает врага, как уничтожают бешеных псов… И внемлет призыву своего пламенного поэта Янки Купалы.
Партизаны не только знали и любили творчество белорусских поэтов, но и посвящали им свои стихи. В феврале 1944 года партизанка-поэтесса Янина Крайник под псевдонимом Лилия Лесная в рукописном журнале партизанской бригады «Пламя» Минской области публикует поэму «Якубу Коласу, голас з Беразянкі».
Автор описывает трагедию жителей Березянки, сожжённых карателями 6 сентября 1943 года. Именно той Березянки на берегу Свислочи, природные красоты которой так любил и воспевал Якуб Колас до войны.
Наряду с грозной и обличительной публицистикой в партизанских журналах было место и для обзорных материалов. Например, привлекает внимание краткая справка о Белорусской ССР.
БЕЛОРУССКАЯ ССР

Площадь – около 230 тыс. кв.км, население – свыше 10 млн. человек. Кроме белорусов, составляющих основную часть населения, в республике живут русские, евреи, поляки и др. Столица – МИНСК.
Коллективизация /по посевной площади/ достигла 96,7%.
Число тракторов в 1938 г. – 8,9 тыс., комбайнов – 1,2 тыс.
Посевная площадь 1939 г. – 3 205 тыс. га /в 1913 г. – 2 564 тыс. га/.
Число учащихся в школах к началу третьей пятилетки по сравнению с 1913 г. увеличилось в 3,8 раза /в 1913 г. – 266 тыс., в 1937 г. – 1 млн./.
Вузов до революции не было, в 1938/39 г. число их достигло 23.
Врачей в 1913 г. было 495, в 1937 г. – 2 367.

Партизаны Иван Хмелев и Мария Григорьева в дозоре. Фото БЕЛТА
В следующих строчках партизанского журнала раскрыт один из основных секретов Победы. После разгрома гитлеровцев под Москвой и Сталинградской битвы фашизм до конца осознал, что победить Советский Союз будет очень сложно, если возможно вообще. Враг не учел, что СССР самоотверженно воевал не только на фронте, но и в глубоком тылу, а эвакуированные производства бесперебойно обеспечивали армию всем необходимым.
Фрагмент из ежемесячного журнала «Комсомольская искра» партийной и комсомольской организаций отряда им. Комсомола 1-й Минской партизанской бригады, №4, декабрь 1943 года:

«Советское государство никогда не было столь прочным и незыблемым, как теперь, на третьем году Отечественной войны. Уроки войны говорят о том, что Советский строй оказался не только лучшей формой организации экономического и культурного подъема страны в годы мирного строительства, но лучшей формой мобилизации всех сил народа на отпор врагу в военное время. Созданная 26 лет Советская власть в кратчайший срок превратила нашу страну в несокрушимую крепость. Красная Армия из всех армий мира имеет более прочный и надежный тыл. В этом источник силы Советского Союза».
Пройдут годы, и народный поэт Беларуси Якуб Колас напишет: «Без изучения прошлого и современного мы не можем предвидеть будущего». Эти слова сегодня звучат как духовное завещание одного поколения другому…
Журнал «Комсомольская искра» партийной и комсомольской организаций отряда им. Комсомола 1-й Минской партизанской бригады, №4, декабрь 1943 года
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda