35
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
NAIMAN'S HANDHELD MORTAR
"What a joy it was to welcome the first plane that brought us the things that we had a hard time obtaining and the things that we needed badly: component parts, the things we could not make ourselves. We got it all: TNT, detonators, mines, SVT sniper rifles, antitank rifles, assault rifles. What an addition it was to our munitions arsenal! What armament for partisans!"

Excerpt from the article "How We Armed" of the People's Avenger handwritten partisan journal, Issue No. 3, Slava unit, Plamya Brigade, Minsk Oblast, 1944

V.K. Bobrov, the head of munitions in the partisan unit Slava, Plamya [Flame] Brigade, Minsk Oblast. Drawing by Y.K. Dyatlov
That was how the head of munitions V.K. Bobrov described the joy of the partisans who welcomed the first planes with ammunition. In December 1942, he was enrolled as a gunsmith in the Slava unit, Plamya Brigade, Minsk Oblast.
I worked alone in this primitive workshop without proper tools or qualifications. Well, are there any things a Russian cannot do when Motherland needs him?
At first special groups were tasked with looking for weapons in villages and forests. Over time, the Red Army began to airlift new samples of weapons from the Soviet Rear. Naiman's handheld mortar was among the weapons sent in the spring of 1944.
Special group before air mission. Photo from the museum's archives
In 1943 by the order of the chief of the central command of the partisan movement P.K. Ponomarenko a sabotage tactics and equipment division was set up as part of the operations department. Its specialists studied how weapons were used in combat and also participated in the development of the central command's main operations where mines explosive means were used. Among them were the operations Desert, Rail War, Technology.
Enemy train derailed by partisans. Dvorets village, Baranovichi Oblast. Photo from the museum's archives
It was as part of the Technology operation that new types of weapons for sabotage had been developed to ensure the maximum effect of destruction of enemy trains and to reduce manpower losses. The work proceeded along two avenues: the development of ammunition for remote fire and the development of tools to shoot it. Specialists of the Inventions Bureau of the People's Commissariat of Defense came up with design specifications for a handheld mortar while the weapon itself was developed by the R&D institute NII-6.
Reference: Isaak Markovich Naiman was born in the city of Baranovichi in 1907. Candidate of Science (Chemistry). A laureate of the Stalin Prize 2nd class in 1946 for the development and introduction into the industry of a new kind of raw materials (wood pulp) to make gun powder. The work ensured a considerable increase in the production of ammunition and resulted in a great economic effect. Wood pulp (Naiman's cellulose) was used to make about 1 million tonnes of gun powder during the war.
Isaak Markovich Naiman. Photo from the museum's archives
Isaak Naiman was in charge of the weapon's development. By October 1943 the NII-6 engineers designed and made 50 handheld mortars with the official designation "Naiman's handheld mortar" (RMN-50). It was also known as Naiman's mortar gun.
The institute specialists also designed an incendiary mortar round (ZM-50). It was designed by Kuzmin and Terletsky. The mortar rounds were made at plant No.562 of the USSR People's Commissariat of Ammunition in Moscow. The plant was established using the institute's workshops in 1941.
In spring 1944 engineers of the central command of the Belarusian partisan movement came up with an operations plan to use the new technology: regular army units and partisan units were told to test the new weapons at the same time. Handy and simple weapons with minimal weight and volumes were delivered to fighters behind enemy lines. The new weapons did surprise the enemy.
Mining and explosives classes in the Stalin Partisan Brigade. Brest formation. Photo from the museum's archives
A total of 24 Naiman mortar guns and 1,650 mines were sent to the Zyabrovka airdrome in Gomel Oblast for partisans. The shipment was prepared by the engineering department of the central command of the Belarusian partisan movement.
Packages from the Soviet Rear are being unwrapped. Brest formation. Photo from the museum's archives.
"Special-purpose machinery, namely Naiman's handheld mortars showed great results. On 18-22 June, the Plamya partisan brigade armed with these handheld mortars and led by Colonel Filippskikh was on a mission. As a result, we burnt an earth and timber emplacement and a train carrying tanks and ammunition. This handheld mortar is ready for mass production. A big thank you to Naiman from partisans. Conclusions: the Naiman handheld mortar is a close-range combat weapon. Partisans of the Plamya brigade hailed its lightness, easiness in use and its performance. The Naiman handheld mortar can be used to fire at moving targets, trains, warehouses with fuel and ammunition since these targets catch fire easily."

Excerpt from the report of an instructor of the central command of the Belarusian partisan movement, Senior Lieutenant Yu.V. Shvam following combat tests, May-June 1944

Partisans derail an enemy train. Dvorets, Baranovichi Oblast. Photo from the museum's archives
Despite positive feedback from instructors and heads of the department, the production of the Naiman handheld mortar and mortar rounds was stopped. Their design later influenced the development of light infantry weapons.
Exposition of the Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War. The Road of War Hall
People's Avenger handwritten partisan journal, Issue No. 3, Slava Unit, Plamya Brigade, Minsk Oblast, 1944
To be continued...
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right

35
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
РУЖЬЕ-МИНОМЕТ НАЙМАНА
«Сколько радости было, когда первый самолет принес нам то, что мы с трудом добывали – детали, и чего не могли сделать. Тут и тол, и взрыватели, и мины, тут СВТ, ПТР, автоматы. Какое облегчение боепитанию! Какое вооружение партизан!»

Фрагмент статьи «Как мы вооружались» рукописного партизанского журнала «Народный мститель» №3 отряда «Слава» бригады «Пламя» Минской области, 1944 год
В.К.Бобров, начальник боепитания отряда «Слава» бригады «Пламя» Минской области. Рисунок Е.К.Дятлова
Так с воодушевлением начальник боепитания Бобров описывает радость партизан, встречавших первые самолеты с боеприпасами. В декабре 1942-го он был зачислен оружейным мастером в боепитание отряда «Слава» бригады «Пламя» Минской области.
Я один в примитивной мастерской без надлежащих инструментов и соответствующей квалификации должен был выполнять это дело. Ну, чего не преодолеет русский человек, чувствуя свой долг перед Родиной.
— писал В.К. Бобров
Вначале оружие разыскивали спецгруппы в деревнях и лесах. Со временем новые образцы вооружения Красной Армии стали перебрасывать партизанам с Большой земли. Среди отправленных весной 1944 года единиц ‑ ручной миномет Наймана.
Спецгруппа перед вылетом. Фото из архива музея
В 1943-м приказом начальника Центрального штаба партизанского движения П.К.Пономаренко при оперативном отделе создано отделение диверсионной тактики и техники. Его специалисты изучали опыт боевого применения оружия, а также участвовали в разработке и выполнении основных операций штаба, где использовались минно-подрывные средства, ‑ «Пустыня», «Рельсовая война», «Техника».
Вражеский эшелон, пущенный под откос партизанами. Барановичская область м. Дворец. Фото из архива музея
Именно в рамках операции «Техника» разрабатывались новые виды оружия для диверсионной борьбы, которые должны были обеспечить максимальный эффект при уничтожении вражеских составов и сократить людские потери. Поэтому работа шла в двух направлениях: создавались боеприпасы для стрельбы на расстоянии и средства их метания. Специалисты Бюро изобретений Народного комиссариата обороны определили тактико-технические требования для ручного миномета, а их разработка была поручена сотрудникам НИИ-6.
Справка: И.М.Найман родился в 1907 году в г. Барановичи. Кандидат химических наук. В 1946 году стал лауреатом Сталинской премии II степени за разработку и внедрение в промышленность нового вида сырья (древесной целлюлозы) для производства пороха, что обеспечило значительное увеличение выпуска боеприпасов и дало большой экономический эффект. На основе древесной целлюлозы (целлюлозы Наймана) в годы войны было изготовлено около миллиона тонн пороха.
Исаак Маркович Найман. Фото из архива музея
Руководил разработкой оружия Исаак Найман. Уже к октябрю 1943-го инженеры техбюро института сконструировали 50 экземпляров ручного миномета, получившего официальное название «Ручной миномет Наймана» (РМН-50), или как его иногда называли «Ружье-миномет Наймана».
В этом же бюро для миномета была разработана зажигательная мина (ЗМ-50). Авторами разработки стали конструкторы Кузьмин и Терлецкий. Производили мину на заводе №562 Народного комиссариата боеприпасов СССР в Москве, созданном в 1941 году на базе опытных мастерских института.
Весной 1944 года инженеры Белорусского штаба партизанского движения разработали оперативный план использования новой техники: испытать оружие одновременно предписывалось войскам и партизанским формированиям. В тыл забрасывались удобные и простые средства с минимальным весом и объемом. Новизна оружия создала эффект внезапности для противника.
Занятие по минно-подрывному делу в партизанской бригаде имени И.В.Сталина. Брестское соединение. Фото из архива музея
Для партизанских соединений на аэродром Зябровка в Гомельской области переправили 24 миномета Наймана и 1650 мин. Подготовкой и отправкой техники занимался инженерно-технический отдел БШПД.
Распаковка посылок, присланных с Большой земли. Брестское соединение. Фото из архива музея
«С 18.06 по 22.06 с ружьями-минометами вместе с партизанской бригадой «Пламя» полковника Филиппских находился на операции. Результат: сожжено – дзот, эшелон с танками и боеприпасами… Вывод: миномет можно пускать в серийное производство… Найману – партизанское спасибо за ружья… Выводы: ружье-миномет Наймана представляет собой оружие ближнего боя. Ввиду своей легкости, простоты обращения с ним и эффекта при стрельбе во время испытания получили высокую оценку партизан п/бр «Пламя». Их хорошо применять по движущимся целям, эшелонам, складам с горючим и боеприпасами, т.к. цели способны быстро воспламеняться».

Фрагмент доклада инструктора БШПД старшего лейтенанта Ю.В.Швама по итогам испытаний в условиях реальных действий, май-июнь 1944 года

Партизаны пустили под откос вражеский эшелон. Барановичская область м. Дворец. Фото из архива музея
Несмотря на положительные отзывы инструкторов и руководителей отдела, ручной миномет Наймана и зажигательные мины к нему были сняты с массового производства и применения. В то же время их разработка нашла свое применение в боевой практике и оказала определенное влияние на дальнейшее развитие легких пехотных средств вооружения.
Экспозиция Белорусского государственного музея истории Великой Отечественной войны. Зал «Дорога войны»
Рукописный партизанский журнал «Народный мститель» № 3 отряда «Слава» бригады «Пламя» Минской области, 1944 год
Продолжение следует...
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right