15
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
On 1 January 1944 a group of saboteurs of the Za Rodinu (For Motherland) partisan unit set off on a military mission to blow up an enemy train going to the frontline. The partisans accomplished the mission having derailed the train, killing and injuring about a hundred Wehrmacht soldiers. That was how the fighters of one of many partisan units of Minsk Oblast celebrated the new military year of the fight for freedom.
NEW YEAR CELEBRATIONS
DURING THE WAR

Later the Patriot of the Motherland journal (issue No. 4) of the Za Rodinu unit of the Belarus Brigade dated 1944 published this entry:

"Every saboteur was burning with the desire to derail military echelons of the enemy, thus making a gift to our homeland… The new year of 1944 will make us stronger and more determined. We will reinforce attacks on the enemy to make this year the year of final victory."

These words reflected common New Year sentiments in the partisan units.
Even in the difficult wartime the tradition of celebrating the new year did not go away. It was just that the circumstances, greetings and wishes were different.
Piotr Goncharov, commanding officer of the Za Rodinu partisan unit, recalls:

"Our nearly 400-strong unit operated near Rudensk, some 25km from Minsk. Proximity to the enemy kept us alert all the time. I never allowed my fighters to relax even during holidays. Alcohol was absolutely off limits. However, Belarusian partisans knew how to have fun even without this New Year tradition."
The partisans created a festive atmosphere any way they could. They decorated a fir tree, but not with candies or toys, but with empty cartridge cases, grenades and even mines… They also used strobiles and crafted toys from the journals received from the rear.
Resistance fighters ring in the New Year. Photo from the museum's archives
Just before midnight the partisan unit would read out a special message of congratulations, honored the best fighters and reviewed their combat achievements.
Blown-up bridges and enemy tanks, derailed trains, dead Nazis and freed territories were mentioned during the New Year meeting. And then they would gather up at the festive table. The commander would give orders to cook a "better than usual" dinner.
Partisans' field kitchen, winter of 1943. Photo from the museum's archives
"New Year greetings were extended to local residents, too. Together with the chief of staff, we would wear camouflage cloaks to pose as Grandfather Frost and Snow Maiden and bring a sleigh-load of bread and scones to kids in various villages. The partisan unit had a chorus of seven people."

Piotr Goncharov, commanding officer of the Za Rodinu partisan unit, recalls

Partisans would stage plays and sing not only for their own partisan unit: the soldiers would bring joy to residents of the nearby villages, too. They would spread messages broadcast by the Sovinformburo radio and would talk to peasants. Children particularly looked forward to meeting with the partisan Grandfather Frost. Despite hunger and hardships the soldiers would always try to make it a festive occasion for the kids.
"The school of the family camp, which was under the protection of the partisan unit, gathered students to celebrate the new 1944 year. A beautifully decorated Christmas tree was erected in the middle of the school hall. Commissar of the partisan unit Fyodor B. made a report on the 25th anniversary of the BSSR. The celebrations featured a school concert. Students also received gifts from partisans: footwear, clothes, school supplies."

Excerpt from an article in the Zarya newspaper, 5 November 1944
The partisans particularly looked forward to the year 1944. In the outgoing 1943 the Red Army struck a devastating blow to the enemy and liberated over half of the occupied lands. The partisan movement was rapidly expanding. The success of the Soviet troops made people even more determined to fight against the enemy. Entire villages joined the partisan movement. More than 17,500 people joined the partisans in August- early September alone. Ahead there were great victories and small defeats, bloody battles and glorious deeds of ordinary people… People who believed in the inevitable victory over the enemy in the new 1944 and fiercely fought for the freedom and independence of the Motherland.
Patriot of the Motherland handwritten journal (issue No. 4) of the Za Rodinu unit of the Belarus Brigade, January 1944
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

15
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
1 января 1944 года группа диверсантов отряда «За Родину» отправилась на боевое задание – нужно было взорвать вражеский эшелон, идущий на фронт. С задачей партизаны справились – уничтожены вагоны, убиты и ранены около сотни солдат вермахта. Так бойцы одного из многочисленных партизанских отрядов Минской области встретили Новый военный год борьбы за свободу.
НОВЫЙ ГОД НА ВОЙНЕ
Позже в партизанском журнале №4 «Патриот Родины» отряда «За Родину» бригады «Беларусь», датированном 1944 годом, появится запись:

«Каждый диверсант горел желанием как можно быстрее совершить подрыв военного вражеского эшелона, этим самым поднести подарок нашей Родине… Наступающий 1944 год вольет ещё новые силы в наши сердца. Усилим удары по врагу, чтобы этот год был годом окончательной победы».

Эти слова отражали всеобщие новогодние настроения в партизанских формированиях.
Даже в тяжелое военное время традиция отмечать Новый год не угасла. Только обстановка, поздравления и пожелания были другими.
Из воспоминаний командира партизанского отряда «За Родину» Петра Гончарова:

«Наш отряд, в котором насчитывалось до 400 партизан, действовал в районе Руденска, это всего 25 км от Минска. Близость противника заставляла постоянно думать об осторожности. Поэтому я никогда не позволял своим бойцам расслабляться даже по праздникам. Спиртные напитки были под запретом. Но белорусские партизаны могли веселиться и без этого атрибута новогоднего стола».
Атмосферу праздника партизаны создавали как могли. В лагере всегда украшали ёлку, но не конфетами и игрушками, а стреляными гильзами, гранатами и даже минами… Использовали шишки, оставшиеся на деревьях с осени, мастерили игрушки из присланных с Большой земли журналов.
Новогодняя елка у подпольщиков. Фото из архива музея
Перед боем курантов в партизанских отрядах зачитывали праздничный приказ-поздравление, объявляли благодарность лучшим бойцам и подводили итоги.
Подорванные мосты и вражеские танки, пущенные под откос эшелоны, убитые фашисты и освобожденные территории – обо всём этом говорили на новогоднем собрании. А потом собирались за общим столом. Командир давал распоряжение приготовить праздничный обед «получше, чем обычно».
Партизанская кухня, зима 1943 года. Фото из архива музея
«Поздравляли и местное население. С начальником штаба, надев маскировочные халаты, которые должны были изображать костюмы Деда Мороза и Снегурочки, привозили в деревни сани с хлебом и лепёшками для детей. В отряде был ансамбль песни, в который входили 7 человек».

Из воспоминаний командира партизанского отряда «За Родину» Петра Гончарова

Партизаны играли и пели не только для отряда: музыкальным творчеством бойцы радовали и местных жителей близлежащих деревень, в которых одновременно распространяли сводки Совинформбюро, принятые по радио, и общались с крестьянами. Но особенно партизанского Деда Мороза ждали дети. И, несмотря на голод и лишения, бойцы всегда старались устроить для них праздник.
«В школе семейного лагеря, живущего под защитой партизан отряда, собрались ученики, пионеры и октябрята, чтобы встретить новый 1944 год. Посреди школы была установлена красиво убранная новогодняя ель. Комиссар отряда Федор Б. сделал доклад о 25-й годовщине БССР. После доклада была показана художественная самодеятельность школьников. На вечере ученики получили подарки от партизан, среди которых обувь, одежда, школьные принадлежности…»

Фрагмент статьи газеты «Заря», 5 ноября 1944 года
Новый 1944 год партизаны встречали с особой надеждой. В уходящем 1943-м Красная Армия нанесла врагу сокрушительный удар и отвоевала у противника более половины захваченных земель. Партизанское движение разрасталось стремительно. Успех советских частей поднимал людей на борьбу с новой силой – в партизаны шли целыми деревнями. Только в августе – первой половине сентября в отряды народных мстителей вступили более 17,5 тысячи человек. Впереди были большие победы и частные поражения, кровопролитные бои и великие подвиги самых обычных людей… Людей, которые в Новом 1944 году верили в непременную победу над врагом и отчаянно сражались за свободу и независимость Родины.
Рукописный журнал №4 «Патриот Родины» отряда «За Родину» бригады «Беларусь», январь 1944 года
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda