33
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
MAY DAY CELEBRATIONS IN THE ENEMY'S REAR
"We are celebrating 1 May 1944 at a time when the German invaders are being massively ridden off from the territory of our Motherland."

Excerpt from a combat leaflet of company No.2, Fight Unit, Voronyansky National Avengers Brigade, Minsk Oblast, 1 May 1944

"The peoples of our country, the Red Army, and partisans are celebrating the international holiday of 1 May anticipating the imminent and complete defeat of the Nazi German invaders."




Excerpt from For Motherland handwritten journal, Issue No. 6, Communist Party and Komsomol division, HQ company, Stalin Regiment No. 208
1 May was celebrated across the country in the wartime 1940s. The holiday was widely marked by both partisans and civilians. Villages and forest camps held assemblies and meetings to hear addresses from the Central Committee of the All-Union Communist Party of Bolsheviks, the orders of Commander-in-Chief Joseph Stalin and the addresses of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Belorussia to the people.
Photo from the museum's archives
At the festive events dedicated to 1 May, peasants pledged to help partisans in the fight against the invaders, to finish the planting season in time and to welcome the liberating Red Army in style. The holiday was celebrated in the occupied zone, too. For example, in the town of Uzda patriots hoisted out 12 red flags on buildings.
Photo from the museum's archives
In the run-up to the holiday, socialist competitions were announced among partisans and villagers. One of such competitions in Bialystok Oblast resulted in derailing 47 enemy echelons heading for the frontline. Socialist competitions were featured in May Day partisan leaflets, newspaper and handwritten journals.
"We, partisans, are facing quite ambitious tasks in this great war for liberation. We need to increase the scale of the May Day competition. To this end, it is necessary to conclude socialist agreements between platoons, divisions and individual fighters. We need to improve combat readiness and to raise political awareness of the division in general".

Excerpt from the article "Let's join the pre-May-Day socialist competition", For Motherland handwritten journal, Issue No. 5, Communist Party and Komsomol division, HQ company, Stalin Regiment No. 208
Despite limited resources, members of the editorial board tried to enhance leaflets, handwritten journals and magazines with festive design solutions.
The editions attracted readers not only with their content, but the look as well. Amateurs and professional painters worked to make them look good.

The former secretary for patriotism promotion and morale boosting of the Vileika District Underground Committee of Belarus' Komsomol Viktor Shimanovich recalls that morale-boosting brigades were most effective at working with the local residents and partisans. The Vileika Oblast Morale-Boosting Unit named after A.M. Gorky was set up in early 1944. It performed before the locals 35 times within half a year.
Belarusian partisans at leisure, 1944 Photo from the museum's archives
Most often, concerts marked public holidays. Coming to a village, members of a morale-boosting unit unhinged the door of a big shed and used it as an improvised stage. The partisans' cart frequently served the same purpose.
Viktor Shimanovich's caricatures. From the funds of the museum
Viktor Shimanovich, for example, drew caricatures of Hitler soldiers and their allies for the performances. Such illustrations enjoyed great popularity. Viktor Shimanovich recalls that 1st Secretary of the Vileika Oblast Underground Committee of the All-Union Leninist Young Communist League Piotr Masherov and Secretary of the Vileika Oblast Underground Committee of the Communist Party of Belarus Aleksandr Monakhov helped choose the themes.
The morale-boosting unit of Vileika Oblast produced more than 50 caricatures (10-50 copies each). They were shown during the performance of ditties and satirical verses that praised the heroism of Soviet soldiers and ridiculed the fascists. Such performances served as a powerful tool of political propaganda and morale boosting.
For Motherland handwritten journal, Issue No. 6, 1 May 1944
For Motherland handwritten journal, Issue No. 5, 1944
To be continued...
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right

33
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
ПЕРВОМАЙ В ТЫЛУ ВРАГА
«1 Мая 1944 года мы встречаем в условиях, когда по широкому фронту развернулось массовое изгнание немецких разбойников с территории нашей Родины».

Фрагмент статьи из боевого листка 2-й роты отряда «Борьба» бригады «Народные мстители» имени В.Т.Воронянского Минской области, 1 мая 1944 года

«Народы нашей страны, Красная Армия, партизаны и партизанки международный праздник 1 Мая празднуют под лозунгом разгрома и полного изгнания с советской земли немецко-фашистских захватчиков».

Фрагмент рукописного журнала «Вперед за Родину» №6, органа партийно-комсомольской организации штабной роты 208-го полка имени И.В.Сталина, 1 мая 1944 года
И в военные сороковые Первомай шагал по стране. Праздник широко отмечали как партизаны, так и мирное население. В селах и лесных лагерях проходили собрания и митинги, на которых зачитывались призывы ЦК ВКП(б), приказ Верховного Главнокомандующего Иосифа Сталина, Обращение ЦК КП(б)Б и правительства к населению.
Фото из архива музея
На торжествах, приуроченных к 1 Мая, крестьяне обязались помогать партизанам в борьбе против оккупантов, в сроки закончить сев, достойно встретить Красную Армию ‑ освободительницу. Праздник отмечали и в оккупированных захватчиками населенных пунктах. В райцентре Узда, например, патриоты вывесили на зданиях 12 красных флагов.
Фото из архива музея
К встрече Первомая в партизанских формированиях и селах объявляли социалистические соревнования. В результате одного из них в Белостокской области до фронта не дошли 47 эшелонов противника. Соцсоревнования были одной из тем праздничных выпусков партизанских листовок, газет и рукописных журналов.
«Задачи, стоящие перед нами, партизанами, в этой великой освободительной войне, в подготовке к празднованию 1 Мая велики… шире развернуть предмайское соцсоревнование, для чего провести заключение соцдоговоров между взводами, отделениями и отдельными бойцами. Поднять боевую и политическую подготовку подразделения в целом».

Фрагмент статьи «Включимся в предмайское социалистическое соревнование» рукописного журнала «Вперед за Родину» №5, органа партийно-комсомольской организации штабной роты 208-го полка имени И.В.Сталина
Несмотря на отсутствие условий для выпуска боевых листков, стенгазет и журналов, члены партизанской редколлегии стремились красочно их оформить.
Издания привлекали не только внутренним содержанием, но и внешним видом. Над их художественным оформлением трудились самодеятельные и профессиональные художники.

Бывший секретарь Вилейского подпольного обкома ЛКСМБ по пропаганде и агитации Виктор Шиманович вспоминает, что наиболее эффективно с местным населением и партизанами работали агитбригады. В начале 1944-го был организован Вилейский областной агитотряд имени А.М.Горького. За полгода он выступил перед населением 35 раз.
Белорусские партизаны в часы досуга, 1944 год. Фото из архива музея
Чаще всего концерты были приурочены к праздникам. Приехав в село, участники агитбригады снимали с петель двери большого сарая и быстро сооружали импровизированный помост для выступления, зачастую этой же цели служила телега, на которой приехали артисты.
Серия карикатур В.И.Шимановича. Из музейных фондов
Виктор Шиманович, например, для выступлений рисовал на бумаге или фанере карикатуры на гитлеровцев и их пособников. Такие изображения были очень популярны. Виктор Иосифович вспоминает, что в подборе тем активно участвовали 1-й секретарь Вилейского подпольного обкома ЛКСМБ Петр Машеров и секретарь Вилейского подпольного обкома КП(б)Б Александр Монахов.
Агитбригада Вилейской области выпустила более полусотни карикатур (от 10 до 50 экземпляров каждой). Демонстрировались они под частушки и сатирические куплеты, которые воспевали доблесть советских воинов и остро высмеивали фашистских вояк. Такие выступления были мощным боевым средством политической пропаганды и агитации.
Рукописный журнал №6 «Вперед за Родину», 1 мая 1944 года
Рукописный журнал №5 «Вперед за Родину», 1944 год
Продолжение следует...
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right