31
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
Professor Gutorov on Fight and Creative Art of National Avengers
"For the first time we saw her at the alternate base of the Shchors partisan unit in Vygonichi District. Her mother was the wife of a pilot and was hiding from the German invaders. Ludochka was about five or six. She would sing a song about a commissioner every time she saw us...

The fascist horde blazed through the area, and I saw her, the song-bird, lying among the killed women and children. She laid hunched on one side, slightly spreading out her little arms. Her skull was broken at the temple...

German shells were exploding nearby. Our mortars fired in return. We and riflemen were heading to the enemy lines. The images of the children killed by the Germans would not go away and the familiar child's voice would play in my head..."


Ivan Gutorov wrote the book Fight and Creative Art of National Avengers after the war to tell about his memories of the Great Patriotic War. It was published in 1949, and after that the candidate of philology received the title of professor.
Ivan Gutorov studied partisan folklore for many years: this topic and some personal memories became the basis of his book. This book also features pieces of journals handwritten by partisan units of Minsk Oblast. Partisans gave them to the author. Seven unique partisan books were donated to the Belarusian State Museum of the Great Patriotic War History in 2011. Gutorov's daughter gave them after the death of her father.
For reference: Ivan Gutorov was born in the village of Volkovka, Mstislavl District, Mogilev Oblast, in 1906. Literary scholar, folklorist. Corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences (1953), Doctor of Sciences [Philology] (1949), Professor (1949). Veteran of the Great Patriotic War. Author of over 150 works. Awarded Order of the Red Banner, Order of Lenin, Order of the Red Banner of Labor, medals. Diedon 8 February 1967.
The interest of Ivan Gutorov in partisan folklore was not accidental. He volunteered to join the Red Army on 7 July 1941. He was commissar of Regimen No.356, senior instructor of a political department responsible for awareness raising campaigns among the military and civilians. Together with partisans he fought against the Nazis in the forests of Bryansk Oblast. There he heard numerous ditties and songs, poems and marches that were composed virtually on the go. He incorporated them later into his works.

Partisans' creativity means that despite all the atrocities committed by the Nazis, the nation's spirit was not broken. Deep in the enemy's rear people kept composing patriotic works
Ivan Gutorov would write in his book.
"The function of partisan folklore was as important in a combat situation. On the one hand, it was a cry from the depth of one's soul. On the other hand, it was a passionate appeal to fight and avenge. In the enemy's rear partisan creations spread the true word about combat operations and accomplishments of the Red Army and the entire nation in the fight to liberate our land. Partisan folklore uplifted the combat spirit and inspired people to accomplish deeds in the name of the Motherland. It was spread by means of partisan newspapers, handwritten journals, leaflets, and by word of mouth while resting after an intense battle at some base deep in the forest."

Excerpt from Ivan Gutorov's book Fight and Creative Art of National Avengers

The most popular genre was songs – lyrical, satirical songs, songs to sing on the march, heroic and epic tales, ditties, descriptions of combat deeds, and caricatures of German troops. Traitors also got their fair share of attention. Those were heads of village administrations, and other collaborators.
In 1942 the partisan movement became a mass phenomenon. Entire districts were retaken and held by partisan troops in the enemy's rear. These territories were called "small Soviet land". Analyzing partisan art, Ivan Gutorov noted that as the partisan movement grew in popularity, confidence in victory was more and more frequently expressed. Not only in the works of partisans but in art created by civilians partisans were in contact with.
Photo from the museum's archives
Companies of talented partisan singers, storytellers, dancers and accordionists, set up in some units also played an exceptional role in promoting partisan creativity. The accordion itself, even in the most difficult times, was an obligatory attribute of life in many partisan units:
After a successful mission we usually organized a political and spirit-boosting party with songs in the village and then returned to the camp. We always had the accordion with us. We sometimes composed songs ourselves. There was one incident, for example: we got rid of the Savrasovka village head appointed by Germans. It was some 8-10 kilometers away from the camp. When we left the village, someone asked to play 'Barynya', and one of the partisans started singing the old pre-revolutionary ditties in a completely new, so to speak, partisan interpretation...
From Ivan Gutorov's recollections
In his book Fight and Creative Art of National Avengers, Professor Ivan Gutorov would write that partisan works are interesting mainly as materials of living history. They are full of details of the fight, and filled with burning hatred for the enemy and boundless devotion to the Motherland. In many respects it is the partisan folklore that provides a broad perspective on the history and the people's fight against German invaders.
Partisan of the Patriotic War journal, Issue No.2, December 1943
To be continued...
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right

31
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
Профессор Гуторов о «Борьбе и творчестве
народных мстителей»

"Впервые мы увидели ее на запасной базе партизанского отряда им. Щорса Выгоничского района. Мать ее была женой летчика и пряталась от немецких оккупантов. Людочке было 5‑6 лет. Она всегда встречала нас песенкой про комиссара…

Прошла фашистская орда, и на одной из просек леса среди убитых женщин и детей я распознал свою знакомую певунью. Она лежала, сгорбившись, бочком, слегка раскинув свои маленькие ручонки. Ее головка у виска была проломлена немецким автоматом…

Недалеко рвались снаряды немецкой пушки. Им отвечали наши минометы. Мы направлялись с автоматчиками в тыл врага. В глазах стояли образы растерзанных германцами детей, а в ушах звучал знакомый детский голос…"


Свои воспоминания о Великой Отечественной войне Иван Васильевич Гуторов изложит в книге «Борьба и творчество народных мстителей» уже в мирное время. Она будет опубликована в 1949 году, а после кандидат филологических наук получит звание профессора.
Многие годы Иван Гуторов изучал партизанский фольклор: эта тема, разбавленная личными воспоминаниями, стала основой изданной им книги. В «Борьбу и творчество народных мстителей» вошли в том числе и фрагменты рукописных журналов партизанских формирований Минской области. Автору их предоставили сами бойцы. В 2011 году семь уникальных партизанских книг пополнили коллекцию фондов музея истории Великой Отечественной войны, куда их передала дочь Гуторова уже после смерти отца.
Справочно: Иван Васильевич Гуторов родился в 1906 году в деревне Волковка Мстиславского района Могилевской области. Литературовед и фольклорист. Член-корреспондент Национальной академии наук Беларуси (1953), доктор филологических наук (1949), профессор (1949). Участник Великой Отечественной войны. Автор свыше 150 научных работ. Награжден орденами Красного Знамени, Ленина, Трудового Красного Знамени, медалями. Умер 8 февраля 1967 года.
Интерес Ивана Гуторова к партизанскому фольклору был отнюдь не случайным. В действующую Красную Армию он вступил добровольно 7 июля 1941 года, был комиссаром 356-го полка, старшим инструктором политотдела по работе среди войск и населения противника. Воевал против фашистских захватчиков в тылу врага в партизанских лесах Брянщины. Именно там он почерпнул для своей работы частушки и песни, стихи и походные марши, которые зачастую сочинялись буквально во время боевых операций.

Партизанское творчество прежде всего свидетельствует о том, что, несмотря на все чудовищные злодеяния и кровавые расправы фашистов, народ идейно оставался непобедим и продолжал там, в глубоком тылу, создавать патриотические произведения
— напишет Иван Гуторов в своей книге.
«Не менее была важна функция партизанского фольклора в боевой обстановке. С одной стороны – это был подневольный крик души, с другой – горячий призыв к борьбе и мести. Партизанское творчество выполняло роль популяризатора правды в тылу врага в Советском Союзе, правды о борьбе и успехах Красной Армии и всего народа за освобождение нашей земли. Партизанский фольклор поднимал боевой дух, вдохновлял на подвиги во имя Родины. Распространялся он через партизанские газеты, рукописные журналы, листовки, во время отдыха после тяжелых боев в глубоких лесных базах».

Фрагмент из книги И.Гуторова «Борьба и творчество народных мстителей»
Самыми распространенными жанрами партизанского творчества были песни ‑ лирические, сатирические, походные, героико-эпические сказания, частушки, описания подвигов и карикатуры на гитлеровцев. Не обходили бойцы стороной и предателей: старост, немецких охранников и старшин.
С 1942 года партизанское движение стало массовым явлением. Бойцы в тылу врага отвоевывали у врага целые партизанские районы. Образовывались партизанские зоны. Эти территории называли «малой советской землей». Анализируя партизанское творчество, Гуторов отметит, что с ростом партизанского движения все чаще появляются мотивы уверенности в победе. Причем не только в произведениях самих партизан, но и в творчестве мирного населения, с которым общались бойцы.
Фото из архива музея
Исключительную роль в популяризации партизанского творчества также играли созданные в некоторых формированиях партизанские ансамбли из талантливых певцов, рассказчиков, танцоров и гармонистов. А сама гармонь, даже в самые тяжелые моменты, во многих формированиях была обязательным атрибутом партизанской жизни:
Обычно после удачной операции мы устраивали в деревне политико-агитационную вечеринку с песнями и уезжали в свои лесные станы. Гармонь поэтому была всегда с нами. Песни иногда сочиняли сами на конкретные темы. Был, например, такой случай: из деревни Саврасовка мы убрали немецкого старшину. До лагеря было 8-10 километров. Когда отъехали от деревни, кто-то попросил сыграть «Барыню», и тут же один из партизан пропел старые дореволюционные частушки в совершенно новой, так сказать, партизанской интерпретации…
Из воспоминаний Ивана Гуторова
В своей книге «Борьба и творчество народных мстителей» профессор Гуторов напишет, что произведения партизанских авторов интересны главным образом как материалы живой истории. Они насыщены конкретными фактами борьбы, проникнуты жгучей ненавистью к врагу, безграничной преданностью Родине. И во многом именно партизанский фольклор дает широкое представление об истории и формах всеобщей народной борьбы против немецких захватчиков.
Рукописный журнал №2 "Партизан Отечественной войны", декабрь 1943 года
Продолжение следует...
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right