17
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
UNCLE KOSTYA'S BRIGADE.
HERO OF THE SOVIET UNION
KONSTANTIN ZASLONOV
Konstantin Zaslonov with his wife Raisa, 1939–1940
Konstantin Zaslonov's ID, 1941
Konstantin Zaslonov's notebook
In the autumn of 1941 a reconnaissance and sabotage group of 40 volunteers from among railway workers led by depot head Konstantin Zaslonov crossed the front line. Only eight made it from Moscow to Orsha. Here Konstantin Zaslonov managed to earn the trust of the invaders. He was appointed head of the local locomotive brigades.
During three months the resistance fighters destroyed about 300 units of equipment and killed more than 400 fascists. Konstantin Zaslonov knew they would have to leave Orsha someday and started working on a forest base.
Photo from the museum's archives
In 1942 the unit called "Uncle Kostya" (Zaslonov's code name) welcomed new members. Those were mostly soldiers who broke out of encirclements or residents of nearby villages. By 1 July the unit expanded to become Konstantin Zaslonov Brigade No. 1.
Photo collage dedicated to Konstantin Zaslonov Unit
Postcard depicting a painting Konstantin Zaslonov by Vladimir Khrustalev, 1958
In the autumn the partisans made a three-month raid across Vitebsk Oblast. The Nazis offered 50,000 Reichsmarks, the Iron Cross and two big homesteads in Germany for life rent for the head of the courageous brigade commander. On 14 November, near the village of Kupovat, Senno District, the staff of the brigade was surrounded by a hit squad. The battle lasted for four hours. Konstantin Zaslonov spearheaded the attack and was killed in action. He was only 32.
Postcard depicting a painting by Evgeny Zaitsev
In 1943, the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR awarded Konstantin Zaslonov the title of the Hero of the Soviet Union postmortem. His brigade was transformed into two new brigades – Konstantin Zaslonov Brigade No. 1 and Konstantin Zaslonov Brigade No. 2.
Radio plays, novels, and poems were written about the legendary brigade commander and his soldiers. A song about Konstantin Zaslonov was performed by the orchestra of Konstantin Zaslonov Brigade No. 1 and the partisan ensemble of Konstantin Zaslonov Brigade No. 2. These songs were often heard in the forest, in huts or dugouts.
Excerpt from the order on conferring the rank of the Hero of the Soviet Union upon Konstantin Zaslonov
The spoon Konstantin Zaslonov used
Konstantin Zaslonov's personal TT pistol
Konstantin Zaslonov. Photo from the museum's archives
In 1944 the Zaslonov partisans presented the brigade's collection of literature and art works National Avenger to the deputy chief of the Belarusian staff of the partisan movement Iosif Ryzhikov. In the preface of the journal the brigade commissar Boris Ivanov wrote that "stories, poems and ballads about acts of bravery provide a detailed account of the striking personality of 'Uncle Kostya' and hundreds of heroes he had raised".
"The time will soon come when Nazi Germany will be completely defeated. Yet, the Great Patriotic War is still raging. Today we hold weapons in our hands. Hit the enemy hard! Every partisan must aim for it. Every poem, every line of this collection of poems calls upon the partisans for combat deeds."

Excerpt from the National Avenger journal, the Vitebsk Oblast brigades named after Hero of the Soviet Union Konstantin Zaslonov, 1944
Konstantin Zaslonov's family, 1946
"Konstantin Zaslonov" book.Authors are F.Popov and S.Shchutsky, 1951
The National Avenger, like many other literary and publicist collections of partisans' works, became a handwritten monument to the heroic past. Thanks to Konstantin Zaslonov, members of the brigade got the chance to survive. They later joined the Red Army. After the war, the deeds of the legendary brigade commander were celebrated in films, theatrical plays, artworks, music and sculpture.
National Avenger journal of the partisan brigades named after Hero of the Soviet Union Konstantin Zaslonov, 1944
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

17
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
БРИГАДА «ДЯДИ КОСТИ».
О ГЕРОЕ СОВЕТСКОГО СОЮЗА
КОНСТАНТИНЕ ЗАСЛОНОВЕ
К.С.Заслонов с женой Раисой Алексеевной, 1939–1940 год
Удостоверение К.С.Заслонова, 1941 год
Записная книжка К.С.Заслонова
Осенью 1941-го 40 диверсантов из добровольцев-железнодорожников во главе с начальником депо Константином Заслоновым перешли линию фронта. Из Москвы до Орши добрались только 8 человек. Здесь Заслонову удалось войти в доверие к оккупантам – его назначили начальником русских паровозных бригад.
За три месяца подпольщики уничтожили около 300 единиц техники и более 400 фашистов. Заслонов понимал, что когда-нибудь придется покинуть Оршу, и приступил к подготовке лесной базы.
Фото из архива музея
В 1942-м отряд «Дяди Кости» (партизанский псевдоним Заслонова) пополнялся попавшими в окружение солдатами и жителями близлежащих деревень, к июлю образовалась 1-я бригада К.С.Заслонова.
Фотоколлаж, посвященный отряду К.С.Заслонова
Открытка с репродукцией картины В.Хрусталева «Константин Заслонов», 1958 год
Осенью партизаны на три месяца вышли в рейд по Витебской области. За голову отважного комбрига гитлеровцы обещали 50 тыс. марок, железный крест и два крупных имения в Германии в пожизненное пользование. 14 ноября у деревни Куповать Сенненского района штаб бригады окружили каратели. Бой продолжался 4 часа. Заслонов повел бойцов в атаку и погиб в схватке.Ему шел 33-й год.
Почтовая карточка с репродукцией картины Е.Зайцева
Президиум Верховного Совета СССР в 1943 году присвоил Константину Сергеевичу звание Героя Советского Союза посмертно. На базе его бригады были сформированы 1-я и 2-я бригады имени Героя Советского Союза К.С.Заслонова.
О легендарном комбриге и его бойцах создавали радиопостановки, слагали повести и поэмы. Песню о «Дяде Косте» исполнял оркестр 1-й и партизанский ансамбль 2-й заслоновской бригады. Напевы заслоновских песен часто можно было слышать в лесу, хате или землянке.
Выписка о присвоении звания Героя Советского Союза К.С.Заслонову
Ложка, которой пользовался К.С.Заслонов
Личное оружие К.С.Заслонова, пистолет ТТ
К.С.Заслонов, 1940 год. Фото из архива музея
В 1944 году заслоновцы подарили бригадный литературно-художественный сборник «Народный мститель» заместителю начальника Белорусского штаба партизанского движения Иосифу Рыжикову. В журнале через рассказы о подвигах, стихи и баллады передан «яркий образ «Дяди Кости» и сотен воспитанных им героев», написал в своей вступительной статье к сборнику комиссар бригады Борис Иванов.
«Уже недалек час полного разгрома гитлеровской Германии, но еще сегодня полыхает война – Великая Отечественная война. Сегодня у нас в руках оружие. Крепче же удары по врагу! К этому сейчас должен стремиться каждый партизан, и на эти боевые дела призывает партизан каждый стих, каждая строчка данного сборника».

Фрагмент журнала «Народный мститель» партизанских бригад имени Героя Советского Союза К.С.Заслонова Витебской области, 1944 год
Семья К.С.Заслонова, 1946 год
Книга «Канстанцін Заслонаў». Авторы – Ф.Попов и С.Щуцкий, 1951 год
«Народный мститель», как и другие художественно-публицистические сборники партизан, стал рукописным памятником героических будней. Благодаря героизму Константина Заслонова шанс выжить получили бойцы бригады, в дальнейшем влившиеся в ряды Красной Армии.После войны легендарному комбригу были посвящены фильмы, спектакли, произведения живописи, музыки и скульптуры.
Журнал «Народный мститель» партизанских бригад имени Героя Советского Союза К.С.Заслонова, 1944 год
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda