3
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
This battle lasted more than three hours and took the lives of over 100 Nazis. Partisans lost 17 people, the youngest of whom was only 16 years old.

BATTLE OF KUCHIN
The battle in the Krushnikovsky Forest described in a handwritten partisan journal is also mentioned in other sources as the Battle of Kuchin.
A group led by Yakov Kovshirko from partisan unit No. 61 was tasked with destroying a police station near the Kuchin village and seizing trophies. On 26 July 1942 after completing the mission, the partisans made a stop 3km to the northwest of the village.
"The enemy ring around us was getting smaller and smaller. Bullets were raining down. The fascists enraged by the stubborn resistance from a small group of partisans were pressing hard, though our shots were dropping them one by one...Groans of the wounded and cries of dying people were heard everywhere.

The battle was growing fiercer. Our comrades fought bravely. But enemy fire was taking the lives of our soldiers one by one…"


Excerpt from the National
Avenger journal, Issue No. 3,
November 1942,
Partisan Unit No.61
Photos from the museum's archives
"We had to camp out in a small forest because the forests in Klichev, Berezino and Belynichi districts were cordoned off and the entire right bank of the Drut River was occupied by fascist thugs. The enemy had considerable forces on the left bank of the Drut River as well…"

From the memoirs
of Stepan Gordeyev,
a participant
of the Battle of Kuchin
Simultaneously, the occupants launched a punitive operation against the partisans from Mogilev District, Klichev District and Osipovichi District of Mogilev Oblast.
"In July 1942 the enemy pulled three full-strength divisions from the frontline to assist the punitive forces. They launched an offensive from four sides aiming to box in the partisans in the Klichev-Usakino forests and destroy them completely. In early July the first big enemy groups showed up near the villages. However, they were repelled by the national avengers."

From the memoirs
of Stepan Gordeyev,
a participant
of the Battle of Kuchin
In the morning of 9 August the Nazis encircled the forest where the 15- strong Kovshirko group and four partisans from unit No. 255 were hiding. The Nazis deployed several dozen vehicles with soldiers, light tanks, artillery and mortars.
Partisans in a firefight. BelTA's photo reproduction
"Our stay in such a small forest was not left unnoticed. Traitors tipped off the head of the Hitlerite punitive expedition that a large group of partisans was hiding in the Kuchinsky Forest. He sent a punitive mission that outmanned and outgunned us more than 100 times. The mobile infantry alone had 2,500–3,000 soldiers and officers and 81 large vehicles."


From the memoirs
of Stepan Gordeyev,
a participant of the Battle of Kuchin
It was too late to run from the forest. Actually, there was nowhere to run as the forest was surrounded by fields. The Kuchinsky Forest was 3km long and 1km wide. The group began to maneuver to avoid being detected by the Nazis. The enemy launched heavy mortar fire at the forest.
Photos from the museum's archives
"The Nazi opened artillery and mortar fire shooting the forest through and through. A plane was adjusting the fire, while small tanks and armored vehicles were patrolling between the firing points. The forest was sealed off. Our group was in dire straits. We decided to maneuver. We made the enemy spin their wheels; they used up a great amount of ammunition without killing anyone of us…"


From the memoirs
of Stepan Gordeyev,
a participant of the Battle of Kuchin
The only way out of the forest was a narrow pathway to an open field between Brody and Nezovka. That was where the partisans were heading when the Germans started a comb-through operation. The partisans had to hurry up. Yakov Kovshirko sent two people on a reconnaissance mission but they were killed never reaching the pathway. It became clear for the partisans there was no escape from the forest, and they began preparing for an all-round defense.
"Vladimir Zayats with an assault rifle and Mikhail Leibovich with a rifle went to scout the area in order to cross the open field and reach the large forest… But they managed to run some 200–300 meters away from the edge of the forest… The Nazi 'dropped' our comrades and the enemy's light armored vehicles moved out into the battlefield…"

From the memoirs
of Stepan Gordeyev,
a participant
of the Battle of Kuchin
The ring of the enemy was shrinking fast. The partisans repelled two attacks with the enemy suffering great losses. However, the Nazis continued attacking never stopping for a minute. Nine partisans, including Yakov Kovshirko, were killed.

Photos from the museum's archives
Shortly after, the Nazis ceased fire and called on the partisans to surrender. Political instructor Vasily Kraiko decided to approach the Nazis to throw grenades on them to give the other partisans a chance to escape amid panic.
"…We had very few firing points left… Under the pretense of surrendering the heavily wounded political commissar Kraiko, the section leader Polikarpov, Valendo, and Saitov stood up and went towards the enemy… Each of them had two grenades ready to detonate. The Germans surrounded every one of them… Our comrades simultaneously pulled out the safety pins… The first grenades were thrown at the feet of the enemy…"

From the memoirs
of Stepan Gordeyev,
a participant
of the Battle of Kuchin
When grenades ran dry, partisans Hamat Saitov, Vladimir Valendo, Nikolai Vikhritsky and Vasily Zuyev attacked the enemy with bayonets.

Hamat Saitov broke his bayonet and took out a knife. He killed several Nazi soldiers before a German officer shot at him. When the Fritz bent over him, Hamat grabbed his hand, pinned him down and clutched at his throat.

Vladimir Valendo used the butt stock to knock down the enemy.

Pavel Koblov and Stepan Gordeyev, the authors of the article, were the only ones who managed to escape. They came back to the detachment five days later to tell the story to their comrades. The terribly wounded Vladimir Valendo was found by scouts who found their way to the battlefield. He died in their arms but managed to tell what his comrades had accomplished.

According to the museum's information, the partisans killed over 100 Nazis. The oldest partisan – Mikhail Leibovich – was 38. Yakov Kovshirko was 22 years of age. The youngest one – Vladimir Valendo – was only 16. Partisans wrote a song in memory of their heroic comrades.
A piece of poetry dedicated by the editor of the partisan journal A. Tarnetsky to his fallen comrades

(Excerpt from the National Avenger journal, Issue No. 3, November 1942, Partisan Unit No.61)
The remains of the fallen partisans were moved to the graveyard of the village of Kuchin in 1948. Names of 13 heroes were initially inscribed onto the tombstone. The fact that there had been 17 partisans – four fighters from another partisan unit joined Kovshirko's group – became known later.

Here are the names of the partisans, who died fighting near the village of Kuchin:

Vladimir Valendo, Boris Vasyanin, Nikolai Vikhritsky, Pavel Zhyonin, Vladimir Zaitsev, Grigory Zaitsev, Vasily Zuyev, Ivan Karnetsky, Piotr Kovalyov, Yakov Kovshirko, Vasily Kondratyev, Vasily Kravtsov, Vasily Kraiko, Mikhail Leibovich, Mikhail Polikarpov, Hamat Saitov, Nikolai Ushakov.
Yakov Kovshirko
the group’s commander
Vladimir Valendo
(16 years old), the youngest participant of the Battle of Kuchin
Hamat Saitov
was born in the Bashkir Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic in 1911
Vasily Zuyev
Vladimir Zaitsev
Grigory Zaitsev
Mikhail Polikarpov
Ivan Karnatsky
Stepan Gordeyev
one of contributors to the National Avenger journal
Excerpt from the National Avenger journal, Issue No.3, November 1942, Partisan Unit No.61

Vladimir Valendo was born in the town of Klichev, Mogilev Oblast in 1923*. After finishing secondary school, he went to work as an assistant to the cinema technician of the Klichev House Building Factory. In late 1940 he joined the All-Union Leninist Young Communist League (Komsomol). He died heroically as part of the partisan unit, sacrificing his life to help free his homeland.

* Valendo's age indicated in the handwritten journal was incorrect. He pretended to be several years older than he really was, which was done by many youngsters seeking to join partisans. His real age was established later using archived documents.
Excerpt from the National Avenger journal, Issue No.3, November 1942, Partisan Unit No.61

Yakov Kovshirko was born in the village of Olkhovka, Klichev District, Mogilev Oblast in 1920. He received the military rank of lieutenant and served in the army as artillery reconnaissance commander. He fought on the frontline during the Great Patriotic War. While in the enemy rear, he joined the partisan unit as deputy commander.
National Avenger journal, Issue No. 3, Partisan Unit No. 61, November 1942
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

СТРАНИЦА
3
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
Этот бой продолжался больше трёх часов. Ценой жизни 17 партизан было уничтожено более 100 фашистов. Самому младшему из партизанской группы было 16 лет…
КУЧИНСКИЙ БОЙ
Бой в Крушниковском лесу, о котором рассказывается в рукописном партизанском журнале, упоминается в других источниках как Кучинский бой.
Группа под командованием лейтенанта Якова Ковширко (61-й партизанский отряд) получила задание разгромить полицейский участок в районе деревни Кучин и забрать трофеи. 26 июля 1942 года, выполнив задание, партизаны остановились в лесу в 3 км северо-западнее деревни.
« Вражеское кольцо сжималось все больше и больше. Пули сыпались градом. Озверелые фашисты, разъяренные таким упорным сопротивлением небольшой группы партизан, наседали, несмотря на то, что наш огонь подкашивал их одного за другим… слышались стоны раненых и предсмертные крики убитых.

Бой разгорался все сильнее. Отважно сражались наши товарищи. Но ливень фашистского огня вырывал из наших рядов одного бойца за другим…
»


Фрагмент из журнала
«Народный мститель» №3
61-го партизанского отряда, ноябрь
1942 года
Фото из архива музея
«Мы вынуждены были остановиться в небольшом лесу, так как в это время проходила полная блокировка лесов Кличевского, Березинского и Белыничского районов и весь правый берег реки Друть был занят гитлеровскими головорезами. Значительные силы противника были и по левому берегу Друти…»

Из воспоминаний участника
Кучинского боя
Степана Гордеева
Примерно в это же время оккупанты начали карательную экспедицию против партизан Могилёвского, Кличевского, Осиповичского районов Могилёвской области.
«В июле 1942 года противник оттянул с фронта 3 отборных дивизии в помощь карателям и одновременно начал наступление с 4-х сторон, преследуя цель окружить плотным кольцом партизан в Кличевских-Усакинских лесах и уничтожить их полностью. В начале июля первые крупные группы противника появились в районе деревень, но они получили должный отпор народных мстителей»

Из воспоминаний участника
Кучинского боя
Степана Гордеева
Утром 9 августа лес, где расположились группа Ковширко из 15 человек и четверо присоединившихся к ним партизан 255-го отряда, окружили фашисты. Подъехало несколько десятков машин с солдатами, лёгкие танки, артиллерия и миномёты.
Партизаны ведут бой. Репродукция БЕЛТА
«Наше пребывание в таком маленьком лесу не осталось не замеченным. Нашлись предатели, которые сообщили командующему гитлеровской карательной экспедиции, что в Кучинском лесе (где мы находились) сосредоточены очень крупные силы партизан. Получив такой сигнал, он натравил на нас более чем в 100 раз превосходящие силы как по численности, так и по вооружению: только подвижных частей пехоты на 81 большой машине 2500–3000 солдат и офицеров.»


Из воспоминаний участника
Кучинского боя
Степана Гордеева
Бежать из леса было поздно, да и некуда – кругом поля. Кучинский лес занимал площадь длиной 3 км, шириной 1 км. Чтобы не обнаружить себя, группа начала маневрировать. Противник повёл артиллерийский и миномётный обстрел леса.
Фото из архива музея
«Гитлеровцы открыли по лесу артиллерийский и минометный огонь, простреливая его от края до края. Самолет корректировал огонь, а танкетки и бронемашины патрулировали между огневыми точками. Лес был окружен плотным кольцом. Наша группа оказалась в очень тяжелом состоянии. Мы решили маневрировать, заставили противника топтаться на месте, израсходовать большое количество боеприпасов не принося нам ущерба в живой силе…»


Из воспоминаний участника
Кучинского боя
Степана Гордеева
Для выхода оставался свободным только узкий проход в чистое поле между Бродом и Незовкой. К этому проходу устремились партизаны, но в полдень гитлеровцы начали прочёсывать лес. Нужно было торопиться, и Ковширко послал двух человек в разведку к проходу. Не дойдя до цели, они погибли. Для оставшихся стало ясно, что из леса не выбраться, и партизаны заняли круговую оборону.
«Заяц Владимир с автоматом и Лейбович Михаил с винтовкой отправились в разведку с целью проскочить по чистому полю и попасть в большой лес… Но им удалось пробежать не более 200–300 метров от леса… Гитлеровцы «подкосили» наших товарищей, а вслед за этим вышли вражеские танкетки и бронемашина…»

Из воспоминаний участника
Кучинского боя
Степана Гордеева
Кольцо врагов сжималось всё плотнее. Два нападения были отбиты с большими для врага потерями, однако атаки фашистов продолжались непрерывно. Девять партизан, в числе которых был и сам Яков Ковширко, погибли.
Фото из архива музея
Вскоре немцы прекратили огонь и начали призывать партизан сдаться. Политрук Василий Крайко принял решение выйти навстречу немцам и, вплотную подойдя к противнику, забросать их гранатами. Партизаны надеялись, воспользовавшись паникой, вырваться из кольца.
«…Огневых точек у нас оставалось очень мало… Под предлогом сдаться в плен поднялись тяжело раненные политрук Крайко, командир отделения Поликарпов, Валендо и Саитов и пошли на сближение с врагом… У всех у них в руках были по две подготовленные к взрыву гранаты. Немцы окружили каждого… Наши товарищи одновременно зубами выдернули предохранительную чеку за кольцо… Первые гранаты бросили под ноги врагу…»

Из воспоминаний участника
Кучинского боя
Степана Гордеева
Когда гранаты закончились, партизаны Хамат Саитов, Владимир Валендо, Николай Вихрицкий и Василий Зуев бросились в штыковую атаку...

У Саитова сломался штык, он схватился за нож. Под его ударами упало несколько фашистов. Немецкий офицер выстрелил в него из пистолета, и Хамат упал с пробитой грудью. Но когда офицер склонился над ним, то Саитов последним усилием схватил фрица за руку, повалил на землю и вцепился ему в горло.

Валендо отбивался от врагов прикладом.

Из окружения удалось вырваться только Павлу Коблову и Степану Гордееву – авторам статьи, размещённой в журнале. Они вернулись в отряд на пятые сутки и рассказали о случившемся. Израненного Владимира Валендо нашли пробравшиеся к месту боя разведчики. Он умер у них на руках, успев рассказать о подвиге своих товарищей.

По сведениям, хранящимся в фондах музея, партизаны уничтожили более 100 фашистов. Самому старшему в партизанской группе – Михаилу Лейбовичу было 38 лет, Якову Ковширко – 22 года, а самому младшему Володе Валендо – 16 лет. В память о товарищах-героях партизаны сложили песню.
Стихотворение, посвященное ответственным редактором партизанского журнала А.Тарнецким своим погибшим товарищам

(из журнала «Народный мститель» № 3 61-го партизанского отряда, ноябрь 1942 года)
В 1948 году прах погибших партизан перенесён на кладбище деревни Кучин. На могильном памятнике вначале были высечены имена 13 героев. Только потом стало известно, что их было 17 – к группе Ковширко присоединились четыре бойца другого отряда.

Вот имена партизан, погибших в Кучинском бою:

Владимир Валендо, Борис Васянин, Николай Вихрицкий, Павел Жёнин, Владимир Зайцев, Григорий Зайцев, Василий Зуев, Иван Карнецкий, Пётр Ковалёв, Яков Ковширко, Василий Кондратьев, Василий Кравцов, Василий Крайко, Михаил Лейбович, Михаил Поликарпов, Хамат Саитов, Николай Ушаков.
Яков Ковширко
командир группы
Владимир Валендо
самый юный участник Кучинского боя – 16 лет
Хамат Саитов
1911 года рождения, уроженец Башкирской АССР
Василий Зуев
Владимир Зайцев
Григорий Зайцев
Михаил Поликарпов
Иван Карнацкий
Степан Гордеев
один из авторов статьи в журнале «Народный мститель»
Фрагмент из журнала «Народный мститель» №3 61-го партизанского отряда, ноябрь 1942 года

Валендо Владимир Иванович родился в 1923 году* в городском поселке Кличев Могилевской обл. Окончив 8 классов средней школы, он поступил на работу помощником киномеханика Кличевского ДСК. В конце 1940 года вступил в Ленинский комсомол. Геройской смертью погиб в партизанском отряде, отдав жизнь за свободу родины.

* В рукописном журнале возраст Валендо указан с его слов. Он прибавил себе несколько лет – во время войны так делали многие юноши, чтобы их приняли в партизанский отряд. Впоследствии настоящий год его рождения установлен по архивным документам.
Фрагмент из журнала «Народный мститель» №3 61-го партизанского отряда, ноябрь 1942 года

Ковширко Яков Федорович родился в 1920 году в деревне Ольховка Кличевского района Могилевской обл. Получил военное звание лейтенанта и служил в армии командиром разведки артдивизиона. Сражался на фронте отечественной войны. Оставшись в тылу у врага, идет в партизанский отряд, где на посту заместителя командира продолжает борьбу против фашистов.
Журнал «Народный мститель» №3 61-го партизанского отряда, ноябрь 1942 года
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda