18
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
"The night was frosty. The ground was deep frozen. A hatchet would not go in and we had to use our hands. The guards were approaching. Sweaty hair stuck to our foreheads... But we were good. The Germans passed by and went ahead. I warmed up my fingers and gently inserted a detonator into a bomb. I softly covered it up with soil..."
DEMOLITIONIST FYODOR BACHILO
"The risk was great but the desire to derail an enemy train was stronger than fear," Fyodor Bachilo wrote in his book-confession "I Stay to Live" in 1981. But back then in 1942, he, the commander of a sabotage unit of the Voroshilov partisan unit, brilliantly coped with another assignment.
Photo from the museum's archives
"Prior to joining the partisan unit Fyodor Bachilo worked in contact with partisans. He gave them 16 rifles, up to 10,000 cartridges, one RPD machine gun and a sub-machine gun. He also distributed Soviet literature and performed all sorts of tasks of great importance for partisans."

Fyodor Bachilo's combat performance review, 1944
18-year old Fyodor Bachilo joined partisans on 29 October 1942. "Soon afterwards, Fedya grew into a skilled demolitionist," reads his biography in the National Avenger handwritten journal of Budyonny Minsk Brigade No. 3 as of 1943. The courageous young partisan derailed over 20 enemy trains and killed hundreds of Nazis. He was seriously wounded three times.
"The command of the partisan unit highly appreciated the work of the brave demolitionist. He has been recommended for the government award for the second time, but Fedya says that nomination to become a member of the Communist Party has become the best reward for him. Fedya is not getting above himself. He stays humble, as a true candidate to the Lenin-Stalin Party of the Bolsheviks."

National Avenger journal, Issues No. 2–3, Budenny Minsk Brigade No. 3, October–November 1943
Photo from the museum's archives
Note: The team led by the demolition specialist Fyodor Bachilo blew up a total of 26 enemy trains destroying 18 steam engines and over 150 railcars with enemy personnel, hardware and ammunition. The group organized six diversionary explosions at the railway station Mikhanovichi, Minsk District, and in the city of Minsk.
"The party taught us courage, and you learned the lesson well" – these words begin a piece of poetry published in Leonid Albakh's collection of poems Partizanskaya Zorka published by Budenny Minsk Brigade No. 3. It is dedicated to partisan Bachilo, "the brigade's best demolitionist".
Photo from the museum's archives
"As the leader of the demolition team he earned the respect not only of his superiors and subordinates but also the local population," Fyodor Bachilo's combat performance review reads. "As a Komsomol member he put a lot of effort into propaganda in the villages and took an active part in the daily public life."
Portrait of Fyodor Bachilo made by partisan artist G.F.Brzhozovsky
During one of his missions Fyodor Bachilo was seriously wounded in both legs. After the war, he spent a lot of time in hospitals. After recovery in 1949 he came to the Chyrvonaya Zmena newspaper to work as a photojournalist.
Photo from the museum's archives
For his valor and heroism, Fyodor Bachilo was awarded the Partisan of the Patriotic War Medal First Degree and the USSR highest award, the Order of Lenin.
"Timegoesby. The war ended a long time ago. But the old wounds still hurt. So do the memories..." These are the final lines in Fyodor Bachilo's book "I Stay to Live". He passed away in 1992, but the name of the hero will remain forever in the history of the Belarusian partisan movement.
National Avenger journal, Issues No. 2–3, Budyonny Minsk Brigade No. 3, October–November 1943
To be continued...
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

18
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
«Ночь морозная. Твёрдая земля. Тесак не хочет врезаться в грунт, и больше пальцами разгребаем землю… Охрана подходит совсем близко. Мокрые волосы липнут ко лбу. Обошлось – фашисты пошли вперед. Пальцы уже отошли, и я осторожно вставляю детонатор в ящик мины. Так же осторожно присыпаю землей и маскирую…»
ПОДРЫВНИК ФЕДОР БАЧИЛО
«Риск был велик, но желание подорвать вражеский эшелон было сильнее страха», – напишет уже в мирном 1981 году в своей книге-исповеди «Остаюсь жить» Федор Афанасьевич Бачило. А тогда, в 1942-м, он – командир диверсионной группы партизанского отряда имени Ворошилова – в очередной раз блестяще справился с поставленной задачей.
Фото из архива музея
«До вступления в партизанский отряд т. Бачило работал в контакте с партизанами, т.е. передал партизанам 16 винтовок, до 10000 патронов, 1 РПД и автомат, кроме того распространял нелегальную советскую литературу, а также выполнял всевозможные поручения, имеющие большое значение для партизан».

Боевая характеристика Федора Бачило, 1944 год
В отряд к партизанам 18-летний Федор Бачило пришел 29 октября 1942 года. «Через недолгое время Федя становится знатным подрывником», – такими строчками дополнена его биография в рукописном журнале «Народный мститель» 3-й Минской бригады им. С.М.Буденного, датированном 1943 годом. На боевом счету отважного минера – более 20 спущенных под откос эшелонов, сотни убитых фашистов и три тяжелых ранения…
«Командование отряда высоко оценило работу храброго подрывника. Он вторично представлен к правительственной награде, но сам Федя говорит, что для него лучшей наградой является то, что он теперь принят в кандидаты ВКП(б). Федя не зазнается. Он продолжает работу скромно, как кандидат Ленинско-Сталинской партии большевиков».

Журнал №2–3 «Народный мститель» 3-й Минской бригады им. С.М.Буденного, октябрь–ноябрь 1943 года
Фото из архива музея
Справочно: Всего группа подрывника Федора Бачило подорвала 26 вражеских эшелонов, при этом было разбито 18 паровозов, более 150 вагонов с живой силой, техникой и боеприпасами противника. Организовано 6 диверсионных взрывов на станции Михановичи (Минский район) и в Минске.
«Партия нас мужеству учила, ты – ее отличный ученик», – такими словами начинается стихотворение, опубликованное в сборнике Леонида Альбаха «Партизанская зорька» (издание 3-й Минской бригады им. С.М.Буденного). Оно посвящено партизану Бачило – «первому по бригаде подрывнику».
Фото из архива музея
«Как командир подрывной группы своим личным примером завоевал авторитет не только среди командования и личного состава, но и среди населения, – говорится в боевой характеристике Федора Бачило. – Являясь комсомольцем, он вел активную пропаганду в деревнях и участвовал в повседневной общественной жизни».
Портрет Федора Бачило, выполненный партизанским художником Г.Ф.Бржозовским
В одной из операций Федор Бачило был тяжело ранен в обе ноги. После войны он долго скитался по госпиталям. В 1949 году, подлечившись, пришел работать фотокорреспондентом в газету «Чырвоная змена».
Фото из архива музея
За проявленное мужество и героизм Федор Бачило награжден медалью «Партизану Отечественной войны» I степени и высшей наградой СССР – орденом Ленина.
«Идёт время, год за годом… давно окончилась война, да только часто тревожат старые раны. И память тоже – как рана», – такими словами заканчивается книга-исповедь «Остаюсь жить» Федора Афанасьевича Бачило. Его не стало в 1992 году, но имя героя навсегда осталось в истории белорусского партизанского движения.
Журнал №2–3 «Народный мститель» 3-й Минской бригады им. С.М.Буденного, октябрь–ноябрь 1943 года
Продолжение следует...
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda