19
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
PARTISANS' SELF-MADE WEAPONS
Photo from the museum's archives
Sabotage, arson and other diversionary operations... Partisans needed a substantial arsenal of weapons to fight against German invaders. At first those were trophies. In 1942 partisans began to receive new samples of armament from the Red Army, which were delivered either by subversive groups or airlifted from the Soviet rear. However, the partisans frequently used the weapons made in forest gunsmith shops.
Gunsmith shop of the Kotovsky partisan unit of the Budyonny Brigade, Pinsk Oblast, 1943. Photo from the museum'sarchives
Gunsmith shop of the Pravda partisan unit, Pravda Brigade, Minsk Oblast. Photo from the museum's archives
The number of partisans was growing. Therefore, each piece of weapons was taken great care of, repaired or restored. More people volunteered to work in gunsmith shops: local workers, farm machinery operators, engineers. Special workshops were set up to make weapons out from scrap using simple tools.
Partisans of the Bolshevik Brigade smelt TNT, Gomel Oblast, 1943. Photo from the museum's archives
Many partisan units started to produce automatic weapons in their camps in forests. In 1942 a former collective farm head Ivan Mikheichik together with his fellow villagers organized a Razgrom squad [Crushing Defeat] which grew to become the same-name brigade. In his makeshift workshop Ivan Mikheichik restored damaged rifles, shoulder arms and semiautomatic weapons brought by the partisans.
"During his time in the unit Ivan Mikheichik manufactured 65 rifle stocks, 14 stocks to semiautomatic weapons, 10 stocks to machine guns, 27 stocks to vending machines, 110 boxes for road mines, and other, no less important products…"

Excerpt from a story in the Znamya [Banner] handwritten journal of the Znamya partisan unit of the Razgrom [Crushing Defeat] Brigade, 1944
Reference: Before the war, Piotr Chigrinov worked as an equipment operator at a yeast factory in Minsk. On 27 June 1941 he and his family left the burning capital city. They were sheltered by some friends of theirs in the village of Chernova in Minsk Oblast. After a while, he and a group of like-minded people got in touch with the partisans who took action in Cherven District. In May 1942 the entire family of Piotr Chigrinov joined the partisans.
Piotr Chigrinov. Photo from the museum's archives
"Commissar of a partisan unit during the Civil War and a long-term party member, he spared no time and no energy to help the partisans… Many of them are armed with the rifles assembled by Uncle Petya as he was called by the partisans".

Excerpt from the story Uncle Petya's Workshop in the Znamya handwritten journal of the Znamya partisan unit of the Razgrom Brigade, 1944
Since October 1942 the Znamya unit made part of the Razgrom Brigade. Piotr Chigrinov was named the best assembler of Shpagin machine pistols by the handwritten journal of the partisan unit.
This workshop was so efficient that it was dubbed "partisans' Tula". This workshop in Cherven District consisted of a big group of craftsmen. By July 1944 the Razgrom Brigade rolled out 133 PPSh machine pistols, including 32 in the Znamya unit.
Shpagin machine pistol made by Piotr Chigrinov
Handcrafted weapons made by Piotr Chigrinov
Many craftsmen demonstrated ingenuity and resourcefulness while making the armaments. Thus, in spring 1944 self-trained engineer Nikolai Sergeyev from the Znamya unit developed an original design of a gun; six units of such a gun were made.
Gunsmith shop of the Razgrom Brigade, Minsk Oblast. Photo from the museum's archives
Chigrinov's work inspired other partisan units. Thanks to Piotr Chigrinov the field workshop of the Kirov Brigade started manufacturing submachine guns in February 1944. Materials were procured from broken German vehicles and bomb shells. The workshop's operation is described in the brigade's handwritten journal.
"This workshop made simplified detonators, which were vital for diversionary work. Not a single one malfunctioned as partisans placed landmines with blasting fuses. The workshop also made pressure fuses…"

Excerpt from the article Gunsmith's Workshop from the Kirovets journal of the Kirov Brigade, Minsk Oblast, 1944
Chkalov Brigade gunsmith shop workers V.S. Kopelevich and V.Y. Mikheyenko, Baranovichi Oblast. Photo from the museum's archives
"At first glance he is a silent and inconspicuous man," he thought about Sergeyev. "But in practice he runs the gunsmith shop. He did well in a railway demolition operation… An impressive person!"

Excerpt from the story Sergeyev's Submachine Gun from the Znamya journal of the Znamya partisan unit of the Razgrom Brigade, 1944
Apart from manufacturing their own weapons in novel ways the partisan gunsmiths took part in combat operations just like regular partisans. Nikolai Sergeyev was awarded the Medal of Valor. Piotr Chigrinov was awarded the Order of the Red Star for combat deeds and for organizing weapon manufacturing in the brigade.
Organizers of the Razgrom Brigade gunsmith shop: N.Y. Korshun, F.A. Shurygin, N.N. Kolyaskin, P. Boyarko, N.Y. Chetverushkin, 1943. Photo from the museum's archives
Znamya handwritten journal of the Znamya partisan unit, Razgrom Brigade, 1944
To be continued...
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

19
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
САМОДЕЛЬНОЕ ОРУЖИЕ ПАРТИЗАН
Фото из архива музея
Диверсии, поджоги и взрывы – для борьбы с немецкими захватчиками партизанам требовался серьезный арсенал оружия. Сначала это были трофеи. С 1942 года – новые образцы вооружения Красной Армии, которые перебрасывали вместе с диверсионными группами или на самолетах с Большой земли. Однако в борьбе с врагом партизаны часто применяли самодельное оружие, изготовленное в лесных мастерских народными умельцами…
Оружейная мастерская партизанского отряда им. Г.И.Котовского бригады С.М.Буденного, Пинская область, 1943 год. Фото из архива музея
Оружейная мастерская партизанского отряда «Правда» бригады «Правда», Минская область. Фото из архива музея
Численность партизан росла, и каждую единицу вооружения тщательно оберегали, обновляли и ремонтировали. В отрядах начали появляться свои оружейные кулибины: местные рабочие, сельские механизаторы, инженеры. Создавались специальные мастерские, где из подручных материалов и с помощью простых инструментов собирали качественное оружие.
Партизаны бригады «Большевик» занимаются выплавкой тола, Гомельская область, 1943 год. Фото из архива музея
К идее производства автоматического оружия в лесных условиях независимо друг от друга приходили многие партизанские умельцы. В 1942-м бывший председатель колхоза Иван Михейчик вместе с односельчанами организовал отряд «Разгром», который вырос в одноименную бригаду. В своей импровизированной мастерской Иван Игнатьевич возрождал поврежденные винтовки, карабины и полуавтоматы, добытые партизанами.
«За время своей работы в отряде Иван Игнатьевич изготовил: 65 лож к винтовкам, 14 к полуавтоматам, 10 к ручным пулеметам, 27 к автоматам, 110 ящиков для автодорожных мин, не считая других менее важных изделий...»

Фрагмент рассказа из рукописного журнала «Знамя» отряда «Знамя» бригады «Разгром»
Справка: До войны Петр Владимирович Чигринов работал механиком на дрожжевом заводе в Минске. 27 июня 1941 года вместе с семьей покинул горящую столицу. Остановились у знакомых в д.Чернова на Минщине. Со временем подобрался круг единомышленников среди местных жителей, вышли на связь с партизанами, начавшими действовать в Червенском районе. В мае 1942 года вся семья Петра Чигринова стала партизанской.
П.В.Чигринов. Фото из архива музея
«Комиссар партизанского отряда в Гражданскую войну, старый член партии, он не щадил ни времени, ни сил для работы с партизанами... Много бойцов отряда вооружено винтовками, вышедшими из «мастерской дяди Пети», как его называли партизаны».

Фрагмент рассказа «Мастерская дяти Пети» из рукописного журнала «Знамя» отряда «Знамя» бригады «Разгром», 1944 год
С октября 1942-го в состав бригады «Разгром» вошёл отряд «Знамя». В рукописном журнале отряда лучшим мастером по изготовлению автоматов типа ППШ назван Петр Чигринов.
«Партизанской Тулой» прозвали в шутку бойцы отряда «Разгром» оружейную мастерскую за размах в работе. В лесу на Червенщине трудилась целая группа народных умельцев. К июлю 1944-го оружейники бригады «Разгром» выпустили 133 ППШ, в том числе в отряде «Знамя» – 32.
Автомат ППШ, изготовленный П.В.Чигриновым
Комплектация самодельного оружия, изготовленного П.В.Чигриновым
В ходе работы многие оружейники-партизаны проявляли изобретательность и рационализаторский подход. Так, весной 1944 года конструктор-самоучка отряда «Знамя» Николай Сергеев разработал оригинальную конструкцию автомата, изготовлено шесть экземпляров такого оружия.
Оружейная мастерская партизанской бригады «Разгром», Минская область. Фото из архива музея
Почин Чигринова подхватили в других партизанских формированиях. Благодаря Петру Владимировичу в походной мастерской бригады имени С.М.Кирова в феврале 1944-го начали изготавливать автоматы. Материал заготавливали из разбитых немецких машин и кожухов бомб. Деятельность мастерской описывается в рукописном журнале бригады.
«В этой мастерской изготовлялись крайне необходимые в диверсионной работе упрощенные взрыватели, которые оказались безотказными в работе при постановке фугасов со шнуром, а также и нажимного действия...»

Фрагмент статьи «Оружейная мастерская» из журнала «Кировец» бригады им. С.М.Кирова, Минская область, 1944 год
Работники оружейной мастерской партизанской бригады им. В.П.Чкалова В.С.Копелевич и В.Я.Михеенко, Барановичская область. Фото из архива музея
«Посмотришь на него: тихий, незаметный, – подумал он о Сергееве, – а на самом деле… мастерской руководит. «Железку» ходили рвать – отличился... Да, и бывают же такие люди!»

Фрагмент рассказа «Автомат Сергеева» из рукописного журнала «Знамя» отряда «Знамя» бригады «Разгром», 1944 год
Лесные оружейники не только проявляли чудеса инженерной мысли, создавая свои образцы вооружения, но и наравне с остальными партизанами участвовали в боевых операциях. Так, медалью «За отвагу» был награжден Николай Сергеев, Петр Чигринов за боевые заслуги и организацию производства оружия в бригаде удостоен ордена Красной Звезды.
Организаторы оружейной мастерской партизанской бригады «Разгром»: Н.Е.Коршун, Ф.А.Шурыгин, Н.Н.Коляскин, П.Боярко, Н.Я.Четверушкин, 1943 год. Фото из архива музея
Рукописный журнал «Знамя» отряда «Знамя» бригады «Разгром», 1944 год
Продолжение следует...
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda