16
Records were made wherever and whenever possible – in dugouts, between the battles, on wallpaper, exercise books, office books…

Handwritten partisan journals were kept together with important documents. They contained facts and figures interspersed with stories about the daily grind, battles and heroes. Handmade 'books' were pepped up by pictures and unfailing sense of humor. They were circulated to raise morale. They were read to draw strength.

PAGE
PRIEST NIKOLAI KHILTOV,
A CONTACT FOR PARTISAN UNIT
Dear Brigade Commander! According to the Russian tradition, I wish you a Merry Christmas and send my best wishes to you and to the long-suffering Russian people…

Expert from the letter of Father Nikolai Khiltov to commander of the Voroshilov brigade Vasily Eremenko
The letter was addressed to Commander of Voroshilov Partisan Brigade No. 300 Vasily Eremenko. In this letter Father Nikolai Khiltov asked him to grant a leave to wounded Mikhail Shershnev to go to a "health resort" to improve his health. The man was grieving over the death of his commander Anokhin, whose funeral the priest administered.
Priest Nikolai Khiltov with his family. Photo from the museum's archives
In wartime, the clergy performed their civic duties along with their church duties. For example, Father Nikolai was the head of the Church of St. John the Baptist in Kletsk District and also was a contact for the Kotovsky partisan unit of the Voroshilov brigade. He assisted Mikhail Shershnev's reconnaissance group. His house was a hospital, a commanding center and an armory. His wife Natalya treated the wounded.
Handwritten journals of that time contained lots of Happy New Year greetings and no hint of Christmas being a thing. However, Pavel Volozhin, one of the Voroshilov brigade partisans, recalled after the war how he had been a guest of Father Nikolai once. "We were returning after an operation and reached the house on Christmas. The priest's wife gave us a proper reception."
Issue No.2 of the Hurricane handwritten journal of the Hurricane partisan unit in Minsk Oblast, December 1943
In April 1944 Father Nikolai and his brother – priest Georgy – were arrested as partisan aiders. Their wives Natalya and Lidia went to Baranovichi to learn the fate of their husbands but were also seized by the Nazi. The Khiltovs died in the Koldychevo death camp near Baranovichi.
Drawing of the church in the village of Blyachin (the village of Sadovaya now) in Kletsk District
Nikolai and Georgy Khiltov with their wives and children. Photo from the museum's archives
Nikolai Khiltov was tortured to death: he was tied to a bed, under which fire was lit. The priest was burned alive. His wife was shot to death on 30 June, the last night the camp existed. The children – Kira, Nadya, and Valya – survived and were raised by the grandmother.
Yevgeny Krokas, a priest from the village of Milevichi, Pinsk Oblast, and partisans of the Voroshilov partisan unit, October 1943
Photo by BelTA
During the war, the Soviet government took a decision to engage in dialogue with the clergy. Patriarch Sergius died in 1944. Metropolitan Alexei of Leningrad wrote a letter to Stalin.
"... On my mission I will steadily and unswervingly be guided by the principles that marked the ecclesiastical activity of the late Patriarch: I will follow the canons and church ordinances, on the one hand, and stay unfailingly loyal to the Motherland and your government, on the other hand…"

Excerpt from the letter of Metropolitan Alexei (Simansky) to Joseph Stalin, For Motherland newspaper of the Brest Oblast Anti-Fascist Committee, May 1944
In his letter Metropolitan Alexei also spoke about the contribution the Leningrad eparchial clergy and churchgoers made to the defense of the country.
Motherland Patriot newspaper of the interregional committee of the Communist Party of Belarus, 22 January 1943
On the occupied territories, ordinary priests remained faithful to the Christian ethics, helped the partisans, sheltered and rescued civilians and Red Army soldiers. In sermons they preached about the victory of the Red Army, encouraged people and boosted their morale and fought against the enemy themselves.
Issue No.2 of the Hurricane handwritten journal of the Hurricane partisan unit in Minsk Oblast, December 1943
The website assets or a selection of assets, parts of the design and the layout can be used only upon authorization of the copyright holder and with reference to the source: www.belta.by
© BelTA News Agency, 2018
© Belarusian State Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda

16
СТРАНИЦА
Их писали везде, где могли, в землянках, в перерывах между боями – на обоях, в ученических тетрадях, канцелярских книгах…

Рукописные партизанские журналы хранили с важными документами и старательно наполняли фактами вместе с рассказами о быте, сражениях, героях. Самодельные «книги» оживляли рисунками и неизменным юмором. Передавая из рук в руки, их читали для поднятия духа с надеждой на скорую победу.
СВЯЗНОЙ ОТРЯДА –
СВЯЩЕННИК НИКОЛАЙ ХИЛЬТОВ
«Глубокоуважаемый господин комбриг! По русскому обычаю поздравляю Вас с наступающим праздником Рождества Христова и шлю наилучшие пожелания Вам и нашему многострадальному русскому народу...»

Фрагмент письма священника Н.А.Хильтова комбригу бригады им. К.Е.Ворошилова В.Г.Еременко
Это письмо адресовано командиру 300-й партизанской бригады им. Ворошилова Василию Еременко. Священник Николай Хильтов помимо поздравления с христианским праздником просит его прислать для поправки здоровья в «дом отдыха» раненого Михаила Шершнева, тяжело переживавшего смерть своего командира Анохина, над которым батюшка совершил погребальный обряд.
Священник Н.А.Хильтов со своей семьей. Фото из архива музея
В военное время духовенство наряду со служением Богу выполняло и свой гражданский долг. Так, отец Николай был настоятелем церкви Иоанна Предтечи в Клецком районе и связным партизанского отряда им. Г.Котовского Ворошиловской бригады, оказывал помощь разведгруппе Михаила Шершнева. Его дом был и госпиталем, и штабом, и складом оружия. Жена Наталья лечила раненых.
В рукописных журналах того времени есть поздравления с Новым годом и нет даже намека на то, что отмечали Рождество. Однако один из партизан Ворошиловской бригады Павел Воложин вспоминал после войны, как однажды гостил у отца Николая: «Мы возвращались с операции и попали в дом в праздник Рождества Христова, матушка устроила нам прием по всем правилам».
Рукописный журнал №2 «Ураган» одноименного партизанского отряда Минской области, декабрь 1943 года
В апреле 1944-го отец Николай и его брат священник Георгий были арестованы за связь с партизанами. Их жены Наталья и Лидия поехали в Барановичи, чтобы узнать о судьбе мужей, но также были схвачены гитлеровцами. Хильтовы погибли в лагере смерти Колдычево под Барановичами.
Рисунок церкви в селе Блячин (ныне д.Садовая) Клецкого района
Николай и Георгий Хильтовы с женами и детьми. Фото из архива музея
Николай Александрович принял мученическую смерть: его привязали к кровати, под которой был разведен костер. Священник сгорел заживо. Его жена была расстреляна 30 июня – в последнюю ночь существования лагеря. Дети – Кира, Надя и Валя – остались живы, их воспитывала бабушка.
Священник села Милевичи Пинской области Евгений Крокас и партизаны отряда Ворошилова, октябрь 1943 года
Фото БЕЛТА
В годы войны советская власть пошла на диалог с духовенством. В 1944 году умер патриарх Сергий. Местоблюститель патриаршего престола митрополит Ленинградский Алексий написал письмо Сталину.
«...В предстоящей мне деятельности я буду неизменно и неуклонно руководиться теми принципами, которыми отмечена была церковная деятельность почившего патриарха: следование канонам и установлениям церковным, с одной стороны, и неизменная верность Родине и возглавляемому Вами правительству нашему, с другой...»

Фрагмент письма митрополита Алексия (Симанского) И.В.Сталину, газета «За Родину» – орган Брестского областного антифашистского комитета, май 1944 года
В своем письме митрополит Алексий также сообщает о лепте, которую ленинградское епархиальное духовенство и верующие внесли в фонд обороны страны.
Газета «Патриот Родины», орган межрайонного комитета КП(б)Б, 22 января 1943 года
На оккупированных территориях рядовые священники оставались верны христианской морали, помогали партизанам, укрывали и спасали мирных жителей и красноармейцев. В проповедях они выражали уверенность в победе Красной Армии, вели патриотическую агитацию среди населения и сами вступали в борьбу с врагом.
Рукописный журнал №2 «Ураган» одноименного партизанского отряда Минской области, декабрь 1943 года
Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления допускается лишь с разрешения правообладателей и только со ссылкой на источник: www.belta.by
© Белорусское телеграфное агентство, 2018
© Белорусский государственный музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, 2018
Left
Right
Made on
Tilda